XnView Risk

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
PC User

XnView Risk

Post by PC User »

<Moderator's note: This topic has been moved>

Hi Guys, i am near of the world larges lies, if i tell other guys i am to stupid to store a picture on the pc. I work with this computer type since the PC PC. I have decided to create a picture gallerie with timles, creative pictures. Every picture is a new theme in the art of photography. Then i was looking for the right resizer for web export with a good picture quality. XnView was the favorite. Big cutomer have become budgets for buying special pictures. Then they need the original digital photo from me.
The original folder was empty. The pictures was taken with auhorisations, with dates for locations. This happens more then one time. I was sure that i have not clicked the "delete original button". Then i have deinstalled the XnView application. I have no questions about this.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34090
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XnView Risk

Post by xnview »

PC User wrote:<Moderator's note: This topic has been moved>

Hi Guys, i am near of the world larges lies, if i tell other guys i am to stupid to store a picture on the pc. I work with this computer type since the PC PC. I have decided to create a picture gallerie with timles, creative pictures. Every picture is a new theme in the art of photography. Then i was looking for the right resizer for web export with a good picture quality. XnView was the favorite. Big cutomer have become budgets for buying special pictures. Then they need the original digital photo from me.
The original folder was empty. The pictures was taken with auhorisations, with dates for locations. This happens more then one time. I was sure that i have not clicked the "delete original button". Then i have deinstalled the XnView application. I have no questions about this.
The only way that xnview have deleted original picture is this checkbox...
Pierre.
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: XnView Risk

Post by helmut »

PC User wrote: .... I was sure that i have not clicked the "delete original button". Then i have deinstalled the XnView application. I have no questions about this.
XnView does not remove files, unless you tell it to do so. Sure enough, there might be a bug, but at the moment there isn't known any bug regarding file deletion. Did you check the Windows Recycle bin? Perhaps your image files are still there.
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Maybe---

Post by Clo »

:) Hello !

Helmut wrote
…Sure enough, there might be a bug, but at the moment there isn't known any bug regarding file deletion. …
- I tested to delete a copy of a JPG "accidentally" in 1.80.3 under XP-Pro using the <Del> key - that could be touched involuntarily while a pic is displayed -.

1. It seems that nothing happens on the screen after the key has been struck once. Not any message.
2. If you press <Del> again (the pic is displayed still in «View» mode), you get an error-message telling that the file can't be found¦open from its current location (or floppy :P !) or so, I tested in French…
3. Watching into the folder from Total Commander, you discover that the file has gone.
4. And the worst : it is NOT in the Recycle Bin…
:?:

:mrgreen: G
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Maybe---

Post by helmut »

Clo wrote:
…Sure enough, there might be a bug, but at the moment there isn't known any bug regarding file deletion. …
- I tested to delete a copy of a JPG "accidentally" in 1.80.3 under XP-Pro using the <Del> key - that could be touched involuntarily while a pic is displayed -.

1. It seems that nothing happens on the screen after the key has been struck once. Not any message.
2. If you press <Del> again (the pic is displayed still in «View» mode), you get an error-message telling that the file can't be found¦open from its current location (or floppy :P !) or so, I tested in French…
3. Watching into the folder from Total Commander, you discover that the file has gone.
4. And the worst : it is NOT in the Recycle Bin…
With setting "Confirm file deletion" off I could reproduce 1 - 3. But the file is in the recycle bin.
Right, the handling is not 100% correct, (wrong error message in step 2), and more user feedback could be given, e.g. in the status bar. But this is basically what you want when setting "Confirm file deletion" off.

If I get the original poster right, we are speaking of many pictures, not some few images.
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

The snag ---

Post by Clo »

• Hi !
…But this is basically what you want when setting "Confirm file deletion" off. …
¤ Right, but the snag is that the file is NOT in the Recycle Bin!
…If I get the original poster right, we are speaking of many pictures, not some few images…
¤ Indeed, but this is not quite clear : more information should be needed about which files and their number, and in which way they are dispatched in (a) folders(s), the used settings, etc. …
¤ I'm just in search of a reason able to explain why files (a few or a lot) could be deleted differently than from the "Delete" button, and "silently"…
- I tested too with the setting "View"… "After deletion, open next" (or so) enabled for a bunch of files, and of course all files are deleted without any message of confirmation according to the settings. No file in the Recycle Bin still.
- Only a <Del> strike in exces displays the "fancy" message quoted above.
- In that case, a user working intensively in the same folder (maybe too quickly) with the keyboard could destroy progressively a lot of files… Some keys become very ticklish when the keyboards are getting old :|

• Whether this is not something in that painting, I think that the user might check for viruses in his PC…

:mrgreen: G.
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: The snag ---

Post by helmut »

Clo wrote:• Hi !
…But this is basically what you want when setting "Confirm file deletion" off. …
¤ Right, but the snag is that the file is NOT in the Recycle Bin!
For me this works. Is option "Delete to Recycle bin" in category "General" checked?
Clo wrote:
…If I get the original poster right, we are speaking of many pictures, not some few images…
¤ Indeed, but this is not quite clear : more information should be needed about which files and their number, and in which way they are dispatched in (a) folders(s), the used settings, etc. …
The original poster wrote "I have no questions about this.", so I doubt that we will get such info.
Clo wrote:¤ I'm just in search of a reason able to explain why files (a few or a lot) could be deleted differently than from the "Delete" button, and "silently"…
Yes, that's good. If there is any way / bug, we must do something about this.
Clo wrote:- I tested too with the setting "View"… "After deletion, open next" (or so) enabled for a bunch of files, and of course all files are deleted without any message of confirmation according to the settings. No file in the Recycle Bin still.
- Only a <Del> strike in exces displays the "fancy" message quoted above.
- In that case, a user working intensively in the same folder (maybe too quickly) with the keyboard could destroy progressively a lot of files… Some keys become very ticklish when the keyboards are getting old :|

• Whether this is not something in that painting, I think that the user might check for viruses in his PC…
As written above, I doubt that we will get more info from this user.

I think the function which has some risk is the "Overwrite = Replace" in Batch Conversion dialog. If chosen, this will overwrite your original files without any warning.
bugmenot
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 10:29 pm

Post by bugmenot »

Where is "Confirm file deletion" options? My DEL just no warning no recycle bin kills my file
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34090
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview »

General/File operations
Pierre.
Post Reply