how to disable the news window since 2.5.1

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

xalpha
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 1:28 am

how to disable the news window since 2.5.1

Post by xalpha »

the splash window "News" says something like: XnView MP is the XnView Classic's successor, this version supports X64 CPU, unicode and has many improvements........ just like an ad window

will this be removed in the future?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38828
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: how to disable the news window since 2.5.1

Post by xnview »

yes, but this dialog is displayed only once
Pierre.
xalpha
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 1:28 am

Re: how to disable the news window since 2.5.1

Post by xalpha »

yes, only once, but still many people may not like it....
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3478
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: how to disable the news window since 2.5.1

Post by cday »

xalpha wrote: Thu Sep 08, 2022 7:33 am yes, only once, but still many people may not like it....
Once the message has been displayed it will not appear again, so no need for a user way to disable it?

Your point is that it would be better not to display the message the first time?

That is the developer's decision and it seems reasonable, possibly the message should actually be displayed every time the program is launched, with a 'Do not show again' option... :wink:
xalpha
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 1:28 am

Re: how to disable the news window since 2.5.1

Post by xalpha »

cday wrote: Thu Sep 08, 2022 8:07 am
xalpha wrote: Thu Sep 08, 2022 7:33 am yes, only once, but still many people may not like it....
Once the message has been displayed it will not appear again, so no need for a user way to disable it?

Your point is that it would be better not to display the message the first time?

That is the developer's decision and it seems reasonable, possibly the message should actually be displayed every time the program is launched, with a 'Do not show again' option... :wink:

my colleague said: xnview is such a good software, but this ad thing makes it quite low... 8) 8)
trance
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2021 8:35 pm

Re: how to disable the news window since 2.5.1

Post by trance »

should i not update to 2.51.1 to not see this message (even only once)?
it's stupid.
no one needs 64 bit & unicode, this does not give performance improvements.
New features are debatable. Somewhere there is an increase and somewhere there is a decrease.
if you force to upgrade to MP, probably i will not upgrade to either Classic or MP.
xalpha
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 1:28 am

Re: how to disable the news window since 2.5.1

Post by xalpha »

yes, this ad thing is sooooooo stupid. i wonder where the 2.50 version download is available.
trance wrote: Sun Sep 11, 2022 6:30 pm should i not update to 2.51.1 to not see this message (even only once)?
it's stupid.
no one needs 64 bit & unicode, this does not give performance improvements.
New features are debatable. Somewhere there is an increase and somewhere there is a decrease.
if you force to upgrade to MP, probably i will not upgrade to either Classic or MP.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3478
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: how to disable the news window since 2.5.1

Post by cday »

xalpha wrote: Sat Oct 15, 2022 11:00 am yes, this ad thing is sooooooo stupid.
A potentially useful notification, rather than an ad?
I wonder where the 2.50 version download is available.upgrade to MP, probably i will not upgrade to either Classic or MP.
Old versions :D
xalpha
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 1:28 am

Re: how to disable the news window since 2.5.1

Post by xalpha »

you have seen it. the ad destroyes everything, including its reputation

cday wrote: Sat Oct 15, 2022 11:10 am
xalpha wrote: Sat Oct 15, 2022 11:00 am yes, this ad thing is sooooooo stupid.
A potentially useful notification, rather than an ad?
I wonder where the 2.50 version download is available.upgrade to MP, probably i will not upgrade to either Classic or MP.
Old versions :D