exclude format ico and icl

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

R160m3605

exclude format ico and icl

Post by R160m3605 » Wed Jun 14, 2006 6:42 pm

Does the possibility of esclure exist and therefore not to see determined formed as ico and icl? Thanks!

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31918
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: exclude format ico and icl

Post by xnview » Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:35 am

R160m3605 wrote:Does the possibility of esclure exist and therefore not to see determined formed as ico and icl? Thanks!
Yes, in Options/Browser/Items displayed
Pierre.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Wed Jun 21, 2006 3:34 pm

No request, so moved to General Support.
Dreamer

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Add, no exclude…

Post by Clo » Wed Jun 21, 2006 4:36 pm

—> Pierre

:) Hello Pierre !

• Hum… I far as I see, this dialogue is designed to ADD¦IMPOSE the display of certain formats, but there is not any EXCLUSION feature !

• This could work in such a way, for instance, whether we'ld have the field for custom formats with a syntax like :
EPS EPSF PS PDF PPS WMV MOV MAX SWF ECW | ICO ICL
where all extension before the pipe | are imposed, while the ones forward the pipe (so, at right) are excluded

• I posted several messages already proposing such a syntax for various issues, but you didn't tell me if it can be used (or implemented) in XnView.
- It's very handy and useful, we have it in T.C., it solves many problems, either from the Options pages, or from extra-INI entries …

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Add, no exclude…

Post by Dreamer » Wed Jun 21, 2006 5:06 pm

Clo wrote:• Hum… I far as I see, this dialogue is designed to ADD¦IMPOSE the display of certain formats, but there is not any EXCLUSION feature !
It is, you can mark/unmark checkboxes next to "Custom files (*)" to include/exclude.
Dreamer

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Coal-juice !

Post by Clo » Wed Jun 21, 2006 9:12 pm

:) Hello !

• This is totally unclear!
1. That dialogue can acts also for the View mode, since it has a column for this, so it's badly located currently.
2. When the Custom files box is ticked, nothing shows obviously that the types non-stated in the field are excluded !
3. There is an inconsistency with the other Option "Show all types -or so-" elsewhere…
- I already attempted to highlight this a long while ago, unsuccessfully…
{ Maybe ought I to learn Chinese to be understood here ? :P }

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
ouistiti
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:28 pm
Location: Belgique
Contact:

Post by ouistiti » Wed Jun 21, 2006 9:56 pm

…This is totally unclear!
- I agree ! Currently, one can EITHER include OR exclude file-types, but not both !
And this is not explained on the dialogue.
- A syntax like Clo shows above should be much better, it exists in Total Commander and works fine. It saves an extra field for "Exclude"
At least, a second field could do the trick, in order to get "Include" and "Exclude" fields as separate ones…

Frendly

Paul
L'important n'est pas de convaincre, mais de donner à réfléchir.
The important thing is not to convince, but to incite to think.

1,77245385090552...

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31918
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:19 am

ouistiti wrote:
…This is totally unclear!
- I agree ! Currently, one can EITHER include OR exclude file-types, but not both !
And this is not explained on the dialogue.
Perhaps we could have 2 text fields, one for exclude, one for include???
Pierre.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Yes, but…

Post by Clo » Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:56 am

:) That could be much clearer and efficient.

- But why not use the exclusion syntax with the pipe "|" ?
- Like Paul points out above, this saves a field on the box, and doesn't need to change the GUI…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: Yes, but…

Post by marsh » Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:30 am

Clo wrote: - But why not use the exclusion syntax with the pipe "|" ?
- Like Paul points out above, this saves a field on the box, and doesn't need to change the GUI…
I'm not sure the seperator idea would work well with current '*custom' box/idea.
In other words, "primary|secondary" sequence for input box depending on existing custom checkboxes- that would mean it could act both like "exclude|include" AND/OR "include|exclude" at same time?

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Cheese OR dessert…

Post by Clo » Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:47 am

—> marsh

:) Hello B. !

• The snag is that currently, one can only either include OR exclude using that field…

- With two fields, it could be something like below :

———— Image

- It's better yet, but IMHO, a special setting-page should be the best, with i.e. one field per column using the separator.
- All cases could be supported, could they not ?

:mrgreen: FR
Claude
Clo
Last edited by Clo on Sun Jun 25, 2006 6:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Olivier_G » Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:54 am

Have a look at the Include/Exclude part of this suggestion:

Image

Self explanatory, very flexible... and the 'custom' line is not even needed.

Olivier

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

A patch---

Post by Clo » Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:39 pm

—> Olivier_G

:) Hello, bonjour,

• In the meantime, I have drawn a patch to illustrate that I meant…

- I guess that the principle is similar to your approach, but with regard to the existing stuff and my own proposals …
Just quick made :

——— Image

- I need a rest now :P

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Thu Jun 22, 2006 1:17 pm

Clo - looks too confusing, "|" is not a standard, not good for normal users IMO.

What about this:

Code: Select all

[exe com    ] files    [x]  [ ]  [x]  [x]
[pdf eps    ] files    [ ]  [x]  [ ]  [ ]
Simple, good configurable - include/exclude even for specific action - and probably quite easy to implement (no need to change whole dialog).
Dreamer

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

What standard ?

Post by Clo » Thu Jun 22, 2006 2:11 pm

—> Dreamer

:) Hi !

• The pipe | IS a standard item in configurations !
- It's not for you because you aren't a TC user :P
- And I don't see what is confusing : Just read…
- Anyway, less confusing than the current box where it's impossible to know what does what !

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

Post Reply