1.94.2 : PNG pics showing black screen in full screen mode

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
RGBA
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:41 am

Post by RGBA » Mon Aug 25, 2008 6:11 pm

RGBA wrote:Did you tested it with a clean (out of the box) xnview version already?
- You can try this easy with a portable one (no installation),
so your other one will stay untouched.
:arrow: Please try this, it can really help to know how the another version shows it.
Anonymous wrote:If you want I can test it against older versions to see when the behaviour occurred. (where can I find old XnView versions?)
Since XnView Releases are close to generic, I don't believe this any usefull research :?

Did I said already you stepping now into abandonware? Ok, but now.
Anyway, I don't want keep you away, its your pleasure:
http://pagesperso-orange.fr/pierre.g/html/xnviewgb.html
Nobody listen to me. :(

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:11 pm

Anonymous wrote: 1. Go to Browser mode.
2. The thumbnails are generated correctly.
3. Double click the picture.
And you have black screen here?
And if you use F11, you have the same problem?
Pierre.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Full screen OK---

Post by Clo » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:48 pm

:arrow: Pierre & alter

:) Hello !

• I tested the samples and also their thumb nails shown on the board in the two full screen modes,
they are displayed perfectly…

• No matter if I use F11, the menu item, a button in the tool-bar… It's always OK.
- They work OK too in other softs like "Imagine", SgViewer, GFIE…

• My current used INI (and the skin for these settings) are available HERE temporarily…

- Just my 0.05€

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
oops66
XnThusiast
Posts: 1999
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:17 am
Location: France

Re: Full screen OK---

Post by oops66 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:56 pm

Clo wrote:...
• I tested the samples and also their thumb nails shown on the board in the two full screen modes,
they are displayed perfectly…
• No matter if I use F11, the menu item, a button in the tool-bar… It's always OK.
...
Clo
Hello,
Me too.
So basically, the best way to resolve this kind of "bug" ("an ~ individual bug") is to make a new clear install of XnView !
XnViewMP 0.82 Linux X64 - Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - X64

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Des clous !!!

Post by Clo » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:10 pm

:arrow: oops66

:) Good evening,
…So basically, the best way to resolve this kind of "bug" ("an ~ individual bug") is to make a new clear install of XnView !
• Yep ! I've already five installed versions of Dear XnView, hence like we say in French :  Image (Nope !) :P

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
oops66
XnThusiast
Posts: 1999
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:17 am
Location: France

Re: Des clous !!!

Post by oops66 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:18 pm

Clo wrote:...
• Yep ! I've already five installed versions of Dear XnView, hence like we say in French :  Image (Nope !) :P
:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
:) Good evening too Clo,
LOL, but, in your specific case (in the top 10, n°3), you are now an XnView expert with your 3615 posts into this forum ! :D
XnViewMP 0.82 Linux X64 - Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - X64

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5434
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq » Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:05 pm

robofunk ([url=http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?p=58060#58060]Gamma Correct Resizing[/url]) wrote:Here is a very interesting website about gamma error in picture scaling.
Technically speaking, the problem is that "the computations are performed as if the scale of brightnesses was linear while in fact it is an exponential scale." In mathematical terms: "a gamma of 1.0 is assumed while it is 2.2." Lots of filters, plug-ins and scripts probably make the same error."
I've tested XnView and it definitely exhibits the gamma error described on the page. It would be a great if XnView added the feature to use gamma correct scaling. It could even be made the default if desired. The examples on the page are very compelling.

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:38 pm

Ok, I started with a clean version of XnView and discovered the following:

Once I turn on 'High quality zoom - Enlarge', the picture won't show correctly anymore.
When I'm in fullscreen, I can 'fix' the picture by pressing '*' (to zoom to 100%) and then '/' (fit image to window).

Possibly related to this is that when you are viewing a picture in fullscreen mode it will look a lot less after you change the zoom factor. I'm quite sure that 'high quality' zoom does NOT work once you are in fullscreen mode (I use the '+' and '-' numpad keys to change zoom factor).
I guess this is done to optimize for speed, but I'd MUCH rather have high quality.

My system:
WinXP SP3
4GB RAM
Intel Core duo 2 E6600
NVidia 7900GS (driver v175.80)
Resolution 1920x1440x32

PS
If you guys are fed up with me, just let me know and I'll stop pursuing this bug. At times like these it's a shame XnView isn't open source, as I would have been able to fix it myself.

User avatar
oops66
XnThusiast
Posts: 1999
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:17 am
Location: France

Post by oops66 » Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:45 pm

Anonymous wrote:...
PS
If you guys are fed up with me, just let me know and I'll stop pursuing this bug...
Hello,
Of course not, it's also interesting to solve it !
But, i guess, it is not the priority n° 1, because it is now easy to avoid this bug, but ???
XnViewMP 0.82 Linux X64 - Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - X64

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:46 am

Anonymous wrote: Once I turn on 'High quality zoom - Enlarge', the picture won't show correctly anymore.
Ok, i can reproduce it in view mode
Pierre.

User avatar
RGBA
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:41 am

Post by RGBA » Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:33 pm

oops66 wrote: Of course not, it's also interesting to solve it !
Yeah, its kind a challenge, but impossible without every needful specific info of details during an Observation.
Especially, when theres no chance to see anything what's going on or related to interplay, you know..
Don't take it as a personal affront to you. Really not, S.H.Bouwhuis. I have to say sorry, if this is your opinion. :)

Post Reply