Deleting selected / tagged items

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView Classic which have been resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Deleting selected / tagged items

Post by Dreamer »

- tag 2 files
- create a new folder
- select the new folder
- press Delete button
- confirmation dialog is shown with the buttons "selected files" * , "tagged files", "cancel"
- click the cancel button
= selected folder is deleted! :bug:

* it should be selected items IMO, perhaps even "selected item(s)" / "tagged file(s)"

BTW Key shortcut is missing for "Cancel" button (the same as for Selected files / Tagged Files (S / T)).

XnView 1.96.1, Windows Vista SP1.
Dreamer
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: Deleting selected / tagged items

Post by marsh »

Dreamer wrote:- tag 2 files
- create a new folder
- select the new folder
- press Delete button
- confirmation dialog is shown with the buttons "selected files" * , "tagged files", "cancel"
- click the cancel button
= selected folder is deleted! :bug:

* it should be selected items IMO, perhaps even "selected item(s)" / "tagged file(s)"

BTW Key shortcut is missing for "Cancel" button (the same as for Selected files / Tagged Files (S / T)).

XnView 1.96.1, Windows Vista SP1.
I see a yes/no delete dialog immediately after the 'cancel' step. Is it seen on Vista? The higlight is on 'Yes' though (which is opposite of what I'd expect following 'cancel').
I usually see default delete actions always on the negative or cancel on other platform. That prevents accidental deletion, when any dialog is wanted.
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Deleting selected / tagged items

Post by Dreamer »

I don't use any dialog for deleting in Windows, so I have no dialog, but - when I press Delete, then click Cancel, nothing should be deleted. It's a clear bug for me.
Dreamer
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: Deleting selected / tagged items

Post by marsh »

Dreamer wrote:I don't use any dialog for deleting in Windows, so I have no dialog, but - when I press Delete, then click Cancel, nothing should be deleted. It's a clear bug for me.
While this is being looked at, I think it is important for tag users to use confirm option: Options...>General>File Operations>[x]Confirm file delete
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Deleting selected / tagged items

Post by Dreamer »

Hmm.. yes, but it's not needed to have two confirmation dialogs, since it's not possible to disable confirmation dialog (to use selected/tagged files) in the latest version.

Anyway, no file/folder should be deleted when I click the "Cancel" button. I think it's a danger bug - added to ""Must fixes" for next release".
Dreamer
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Deleting selected / tagged items

Post by Dreamer »

Still not fixed in v1.96.5! :|
Dreamer
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Deleting selected / tagged items

Post by Dreamer »

Fixed in 1.97 beta 1, thanks, Pierre.

Closed.
Dreamer
Post Reply