Deleting a changed image

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Blackx

Deleting a changed image

Post by Blackx » Tue Aug 23, 2005 4:20 pm

This is another silly thing, not-a-real-problem actually.

Try this:
1) Open an image in the viewer.
2) Make a change (crop it for example)
3) Press Delete.
4) Dialog appears ("Do you really want to delete...?") - press "Yes"
5) Another dialog appers ("Do you want to save changes...?") - well, not really, because the file will be deleted very soon :)



However, as I am writing this bug report, something has come to my mind: Many people throws files into the recycle bin instead of deleting them and in this case it may be meaningful to save the changes before throwing the file into the bin. Just for the case that it would be restored.
But this is a bit extreme situation.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Change in the image + pressing delete => unnecessary

Post by xnview » Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:22 pm

Blackx wrote:This is another silly thing, not-a-real-problem actually.

Try this:
1) Open an image in the viewer.
2) Make a change (crop it for example)
3) Press Delete.
4) Dialog appears ("Do you really want to delete...?") - press "Yes"
5) Another dialog appers ("Do you want to save changes...?") - well, not really, because the file will be deleted very soon :)



However, as I am writing this bug report, something has come to my mind: Many people throws files into the recycle bin instead of deleting them and in this case it may be meaningful to save the changes before throwing the file into the bin. Just for the case that it would be restored.
But this is a bit extreme situation.
Ok, so i ask "save changes" before deleting it.
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8153
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Change in the image + pressing delete => unnecessary

Post by helmut » Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:52 pm

xnview wrote:Ok, so i ask "save changes" before deleting it.
Deleting a changed image is really a very special case.

If I get you right, you would display two message boxes:
1. "Do you want to save?"
2. "Do you really want to delete?"

This might help some people, but I think for other people this extra message box would be annoying and/or confusing.

Perhaps a message box "The file has been changed. Do you really want to delete the file?" would be clearer. (Sure enough this message box would show up regardless of the option "Confirm file delete").

Post Reply