[XnView 2.40] Error displaying ppm file

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Aryetis
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:42 pm

[XnView 2.40] Error displaying ppm file

Post by Aryetis »

Hello,

Working on a (basic) raytracer I output my files as .ppm
And for some reason I can open them perfectly using software such as gimp. But when it comes to XnView, depending of the scene/file generated it displays garbage data.

Here's an example of a faulty ppm : https://hijackedbrain.com/data/firstSphere.ppm

Using XnView 2.40, on Windows 10_X64
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36389
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: [XnView 2.40] Error displaying ppm file

Post by xnview »

your ppm data contains float values not integer
Pierre.
Aryetis
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:42 pm

Re: [XnView 2.40] Error displaying ppm file

Post by Aryetis »

Yes my apologies.
I noticed it earlier this morning. I suppose this is not standard behavior and thus should not be encouraged / implemented.
Why gimp allows it is .... debatable.