Images get corrupted upon saving

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

Emmy69
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2023 8:55 pm

Images get corrupted upon saving

Post by Emmy69 »

XnView Classic sometimes corrupts my images. I crop an image, choose Save as, and after saving I try to close XnView. Then I am asked if I want to save the image. As if I hadn’t saved the changes already. No matter what I choose, saving again or not saving again, after I get that question upon closing the program my image turns out to be corrupt. In the way shown below.

This does not happen all the time fortunately. Restarting the program doesn’t fix the problem. Rebooting the system doesn’t fix the problem. Usually after 2 or 3 times this error disappears all by itself, but today I tried editing and saving an image and up to 10 times in a row my image was corrupted. I haven’t got a clue what causes it, so I also have no idea how to fix this. Anyone got the solution?

IMG_0088.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43723
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Images get corrupted upon saving

Post by xnview »

which output format?
Pierre.
Emmy69
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2023 8:55 pm

Re: Images get corrupted upon saving

Post by Emmy69 »

The input and output are jpg.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43723
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Images get corrupted upon saving

Post by xnview »

Do you have an original file and saved one?
Pierre.
Emmy69
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2023 8:55 pm

Re: Images get corrupted upon saving

Post by Emmy69 »

Not at the moment. When it happens, it has already overwritten the original when I get the second message,about saving before exiting. I use XnView to crop scans, and rotate them, so when it corrupts an image when saving I have to redo the scan. I never know when this problem wille occur, as it happens very randomly. I haven’t been able to determine if it happens after a certain time that the program is active, or after editing a certain amount of images etc. The problem is I cannot backup all the files before editing, so as a result I never have any originals after this corrupting happens. Next time it happens, I will try to backup the new scan before editing it again. Hopefully I will be able to save an original and a corrupted file this way.