B1: XnView skips thumbnails

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView Classic which have been resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

User avatar
Troken
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

B1: XnView skips thumbnails

Post by Troken »

Don't know if this applies to older versions.

When opening a new directory with images, XnView immideatley scans through the images and creates thumbs, but sometimes skips one or more thumbs.

See this example (two thumbs missing):
http://members.chello.se/troken/XnView/skipthumbs.jpg
ckit
XnThusiast
Posts: 2467
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 1:11 am
Location: Cabarlah, Australia

Post by ckit »

That looks like a "Read Ahead" bug, just disable the option.
To be quite honest this is one option I'd like Pierre to disable by default and remove from XnView entirely.
Foobar2000, PhotoFiltre, Vivaldi Browser (standalone), Windows Eleven Pro x64 22H2 (MPO disabled), XnView MP and XYplorer Pro
User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: B1: XnView skips thumbnails

Post by Olivier_G »

Troken wrote:See this example (two thumbs missing):
http://members.chello.se/troken/XnView/skipthumbs.jpg
Are those JPEG perfectly standard and bug-free? (nice collection from Mucha, by the way... :D )
ckit wrote:To be quite honest this is one option I'd like Pierre to disable by default and remove from XnView entirely.
Come on, ckit: there is just a hard-to-find-but-pain-in-the-ass bug with that option... but it's quite a great feature (having the next picture ready while you watch the current one, and get instant display... is something I would kill for... :mrgreen: )
Olivier
User avatar
Troken
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Re: B1: XnView skips thumbnails

Post by Troken »

Olivier_G wrote:Are those JPEG perfectly standard and bug-free?
Hm... I don't know, don't think there's anything wrong with them. As soon as I click on them, the thumb appears.
Olivier_G wrote:(nice collection from Mucha, by the way... :D )
Yes, he was a genius. :)
ckit wrote:That looks like a "Read Ahead" bug, just disable the option.
OK, I'll try that – still a bug though.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38714
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: B1: XnView skips thumbnails

Post by xnview »

Troken wrote:Don't know if this applies to older versions.

When opening a new directory with images, XnView immideatley scans through the images and creates thumbs, but sometimes skips one or more thumbs.
Strange, Could you try with old version, please?
And is it at the startup, or when you browse folders?
Pierre.
User avatar
Troken
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Troken »

A. I will try this weekend, but I can not remember having this problem before.
B. It when browsing.
User avatar
helmut
Moderator
Posts: 8688
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut »

Older versions had problems with thumbnail creation, the 1.90 seems to work fine for me.

XnView had stopped thumbnail creation if you had started any other user interaction (e.g. opening a file). And when closing the file, again, it did not continue the thumbnail creation. I've just done a quick test with 1.90 beta 1 and I couldn't reproduce the problem.
User avatar
Troken
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Troken »

I can not reproduce the problem on the computer I'm now using, strange. Maybe it was some temporary thing on a individual computer? Don't put great energy into the problem. I'll try to run some tests on my other workstation later.
User avatar
helmut
Moderator
Posts: 8688
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut »

Troken wrote:I can not reproduce the problem on the computer I'm now using, strange. Maybe it was some temporary thing on a individual computer? Don't put great energy into the problem. I'll try to run some tests on my other workstation later.
Thank your for your reply regarding this matter. For now I move this bug report to "Closed", we can reopen it at any time. -> Closed
User avatar
Troken
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Troken »

B1: could not reproduce the bug.
A3: the bug appeared on my first testrun, on the very same images. After clearing the cache, restarting and rerunning the test again, a few thumbs were buggy.
A2: could not reproduce the bug.

It is strange, but I don't think it needs any attention. Maybe buggy JPG-images, so lets drop it. :)
User avatar
helmut
Moderator
Posts: 8688
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut »

Troken wrote:.. It is strange, but I don't think it needs any attention. Maybe buggy JPG-images, so lets drop it. :)
Very good investigation, Troken. Could you keep an eye on this one in the next test releases? Especially the release candidates mustn't have such problems.
User avatar
Troken
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Troken »

Very well, will do!