Reuse cache among betas, RCs and final versions

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView Classic which have been resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
robc
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:53 pm

Reuse cache among betas, RCs and final versions

Post by robc »

How is it possible to reuse the cache when upgrading to a newer version? if I install to a different folder, even if I point the cache to the same folder it gets recreated; with lots of images, it is a pain to recreate all folders even using the Add folder feature. With changes between betas and RCs etc. it may be better to install to a different folder (not that I'm really sure the cache gets reused if installing to the same folder...).
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36798
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Reuse cache among betas, RCs and final versions

Post by xnview »

robc wrote:How is it possible to reuse the cache when upgrading to a newer version? if I install to a different folder, even if I point the cache to the same folder it gets recreated; with lots of images, it is a pain to recreate all folders even using the Add folder feature. With changes between betas and RCs etc. it may be better to install to a different folder (not that I'm really sure the cache gets reused if installing to the same folder...).
Currently the cache db is not the one that will be used in release, we are in beta :-)
Pierre.
User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Reuse cache among betas, RCs and final versions

Post by Olivier_G »

xnview wrote:Currently the cache db is not the one that will be used in release
So: impossible to re-use Cache during its development, as suggested -> moved to 'Closed'.
Olivier