B4: Crash when opening print dialog

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView Classic which have been resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

B4: Crash when opening print dialog

Post by B.Douille »

How to reproduce:
Select 2 or more pictures with the mouse in a single movement
click on the printer icon or open the menu file - print
The MS-crash window appear immediately

Selecting one picture only or 1 and another (using Ctrl key) and the print dialogue window appear. Then you can do anything, selecting picture the way you want; it doesn't crash anymore. Until you close/restart XnView.

Tested with Beta-4, Windows XP-SP2, printer is Epson RX500.
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut »

1.90 Beta 5 is the latest version. Could you please test with Beta 5?
User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Olivier_G »

Strange: I could reproduce it once only in Beta 5...
-> In Browser (View as List), draw a zone with the mouse to select several files, select 'Print' from Menu => crash.

I can't reproduce it anymore... :?
Olivier
ckit
XnThusiast
Posts: 2446
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 1:11 am
Contact:

Post by ckit »

I cannot reproduce this bug in Beta 5.
If it happens only once it may be cache related.
XnViewMP 64bits and Windows 10 Pro x64 2004
PhotoFiltre Studio X
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: B4: Crash when opening print dialog

Post by marsh »

B.Douille wrote:How to reproduce:
Select 2 or more pictures with the mouse in a single movement
click on the printer icon or open the menu file - print
The MS-crash window appear immediately
Confirmed using details view. Selecting 2 seperate images. B-5.
User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Post by B.Douille »

Strange. Yesterday at home it occurs every time, whatever the picture, folder,... It just occurs once per XnView session: If you select a single picture for printing and close the print dialog, then any further attempt to print will be successful.
You have to close the application and select 2 or more picture just as you start to (have the opportunity to) see the problem.

I didn't noticed the availability of B5 when I created this entry. Sorry

Today, at work :? I can't replicate with either B4 or B5 :evil:
Not the same machine, not the same XP (French / English), not the same printer. I'll try again when I'll be back home
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33850
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: B4: Crash when opening print dialog

Post by xnview »

marsh wrote:
B.Douille wrote:How to reproduce:
Select 2 or more pictures with the mouse in a single movement
click on the printer icon or open the menu file - print
The MS-crash window appear immediately
Confirmed using details view. Selecting 2 seperate images. B-5.
Always??
Pierre.
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: B4: Crash when opening print dialog

Post by marsh »

xnview wrote:
marsh wrote:
B.Douille wrote:How to reproduce:
Select 2 or more pictures with the mouse in a single movement
click on the printer icon or open the menu file - print
The MS-crash window appear immediately
Confirmed using details view. Selecting 2 seperate images. B-5.
Always??
Always.
Other settings: Print Spooler service turned off. No printer.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33850
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: B4: Crash when opening print dialog

Post by xnview »

marsh wrote:
xnview wrote:
marsh wrote: Confirmed using details view. Selecting 2 seperate images. B-5.
Always??
Always.
Other settings: Print Spooler service turned off. No printer.
Do you have the problem in thumbnails mode too?
Pierre.
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: B4: Crash when opening print dialog

Post by marsh »

xnview wrote:
marsh wrote:
xnview wrote: Always??
Always.
Other settings: Print Spooler service turned off. No printer.
Do you have the problem in thumbnails mode too?
Yes. And with no browser at all.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33850
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: B4: Crash when opening print dialog

Post by xnview »

marsh wrote:Yes. And with no browser at all.
So in view mode with 1 picture?? I can't reproduce it
Pierre.
User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Post by B.Douille »

Last trials to reproduce. I was unhappy because even me I was unable to reproduce on my PC with B4 :mrgreen:

No need to select more than one picture, no need to close XnView if the printer dialog opened once (contrary of what I said initialy) B4 or B5 has the same problem.

So How To: download a fresh copy of the B5 package, extract the folder on the desktop.
Start XnView, close the TOD. Select the file "What's new" and click on the Print button. Crash most time!

If it doesn't occur: using the tree navigate through folders (all users documents, Pictures, samples). No need to select a picture there nor to open any. Just let's display them.
Then continue browsing folders and at one time select one more image and press the Print button.

There are still a random factor for this I can't find
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33850
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: B4: Crash when opening print dialog

Post by xnview »

marsh wrote:
xnview wrote:Do you have the problem in thumbnails mode too?
Yes. And with no browser at all.
Can't reproduce it :-( Someone with the same problem?
Pierre.
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Desktop ? No !

Post by Clo »

:) Hello !

• I cannot reproduce…

• However, I think that copying the programme on the Desktop is not a right way to install and test it.
- Desktop is a virtual folder with which a lot of strange things can happen.

- Unpacking the archive in a folder of the hard-disk, like normally doesn't cause that issue…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Desktop ? No !

Post by helmut »

Clo wrote:• However, I think that copying the programme on the Desktop is not a right way to install and test it.
- Desktop is a virtual folder with which a lot of strange things can happen.
I don't think that using "Desktop" causes problems. I have all betas in a folder "Temp" on desktop and until now I haven't experienced any problems. But changing "installation" folder might be a good idea, here - just to make sure.
Post Reply