A2: Software Breakdown !

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView Classic which have been resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Guest

A2: Software Breakdown !

Post by Guest »

Hello!
We got a problem here :

OS :Windows XP sp2
XnView Version :1.90 Alpha2
time :2006-10-06

detials:

I wanted to gain more space for the thumbnail zone at Browser

mode.For we don't have options like "Hide toolbar at Browser

mode",so I tried to clear all the buttons at browser mode (through

Tools->Options),but, when I've done this , the software breakdown!

And window ask if I'd like send message to Microsoft.

I tested at ver1.82 ,when I cleard it all , actually I didn't get

more space ,the bar is still there with no buttons , it's in

vane ... but I find this bug :)

btw:
would you like consider add "Hide toolbar at Browser mode" at the

Options ? thanks.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36798
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Software Breakdown !

Post by xnview »

Anonymous wrote:Hello!
We got a problem here :

OS :Windows XP sp2
XnView Version :1.90 Alpha2
time :2006-10-06

detials:

I wanted to gain more space for the thumbnail zone at Browser

mode.For we don't have options like "Hide toolbar at Browser

mode",so I tried to clear all the buttons at browser mode (through

Tools->Options),but, when I've done this , the software breakdown!

And window ask if I'd like send message to Microsoft.

I tested at ver1.82 ,when I cleard it all , actually I didn't get

more space ,the bar is still there with no buttons , it's in

vane ... but I find this bug :)

btw:
would you like consider add "Hide toolbar at Browser mode" at the

Options ? thanks.
You want to hide toolbar only on browser mode, not view mode, right?
Pierre.
Guest

Re: Software Breakdown !

Post by Guest »

xnview wrote:
Anonymous wrote:Hello!
We got a problem here :

OS :Windows XP sp2
XnView Version :1.90 Alpha2
time :2006-10-06

detials:

I wanted to gain more space for the thumbnail zone at Browser

mode.For we don't have options like "Hide toolbar at Browser

mode",so I tried to clear all the buttons at browser mode (through

Tools->Options),but, when I've done this , the software breakdown!

And window ask if I'd like send message to Microsoft.

I tested at ver1.82 ,when I cleard it all , actually I didn't get

more space ,the bar is still there with no buttons , it's in

vane ... but I find this bug :)

btw:
would you like consider add "Hide toolbar at Browser mode" at the

Options ? thanks.
You want to hide toolbar only on browser mode, not view mode, right?
Yes.
Because I rarely use toolbar at browser mode.
Thank you for your concerntrate on my question.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36798
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Software Breakdown !

Post by xnview »

Anonymous wrote:Because I rarely use toolbar at browser mode.
Thank you for your concerntrate on my question.
So toolbar visibility must be different in browser and view mode? What do you think?
Pierre.
User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Software Breakdown !

Post by Olivier_G »

xnview wrote:So toolbar visibility must be different in browser and view mode? What do you think?
It makes sense... and I agree since it doesn't require a new Option (différent states are just remembered).
Olivier
User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Software Breakdown !

Post by Olivier_G »

xnview wrote:So toolbar visibility must be different in browser and view mode?
Implemented in v1.90 Beta 1.

The remaining bug (crash when removing all toolbar buttons of Browser), should be tested.
Olivier
User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Software Breakdown !

Post by Olivier_G »

Olivier_G wrote:The remaining bug (crash when removing all toolbar buttons of Browser), should be tested.
Tested -> Crash confirmed in Beta 1 -> Moved to Confirmed.

Edit: don't even try to confirm... XnView will crash on every restart! I had to manually edit the default.bar in order to use Beta 1 again... :(
Olivier
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8240
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut »

Reproduced crash in Alpha 2. Verified fixed in Beta 2 (XnView no longer crashes when removing all icons. Empty toolbar remains).

Also, we now have individual toolbar setings in browser mode and view mode (I find it a bit unusual, but it's a bit more flexible. The only drawback is for those people who did want to show/hide the toolbar in both modes, often.).

Thank you, Pierre for the bug fix and the enhanced functionality. :-)

-> Closed.