Single Threading on MacOSX

Discussions on GFL SDK, the graphic library for reading and writing graphic files

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
bagheraa
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 2:03 pm

Single Threading on MacOSX

Post by bagheraa » Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:22 pm

Hello.

Is it possible to force Single Threading on MacOSX?

I want to to build a program with gflSDK that runs on the background on a Mac with 8 cores. On a similar PC machine the program uses only one processor, lefting the machine free for use with other applications. But on MacOSX gflSDK seems to run on multithreading, using all the processors availables, making it impossible to share the system with other progams.

Is it possible to change this behaviour on Mac systems?

Thanks.
Enrique.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31488
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Single Threading on MacOSX

Post by xnview » Mon Sep 21, 2009 3:56 pm

GFLSDK use one thread
Pierre.

bagheraa
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 2:03 pm

Re: Single Threading on MacOSX

Post by bagheraa » Mon Sep 21, 2009 5:41 pm

What can be the problem then? Can you tell me anything else?

Thanks.
Enrique.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31488
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Single Threading on MacOSX

Post by xnview » Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:45 am

bagheraa wrote:What can be the problem then? Can you tell me anything else?
I don't know, if you don't use multi thread with GFLSDK, so only one thread will be used...
Pierre.

User avatar
dominique
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:22 am

Re: Single Threading on MacOSX

Post by dominique » Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:47 pm

I have the same behaviour on a XP machine : we can't say how the OS choose to run a thread on a given core.
Dom

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31488
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Single Threading on MacOSX

Post by xnview » Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:32 am

dominique wrote:I have the same behaviour on a XP machine : we can't say how the OS choose to run a thread on a given core.
Yes, but if you don't use thread, your app use only one core :-)
Pierre.

Post Reply