GFlax + 64 bit Windows

Discussions on GFL SDK, the graphic library for reading and writing graphic files

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

OnamCh
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:36 pm

GFlax + 64 bit Windows

Post by OnamCh »

Hi all, I am experiencing some issues in relation to a 64 bit server and Gflax. I know this is quite a common question but mine is slightly different. I am trying to register the DLL and it gives me an error stating the following:

The module GFlax.dll failed to load.
Make sure the binary is stored at the specified path or debug it to check for problems with the binary or dependent .DLL files.
The specified module could not be found.


I did download the file from http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=21686 under announcements. Maybe I have missed something simple but I would appreciate it if someone can inform me of what maybe wrong...

I am after a 64 bit version of the GFlax DLL. Is there a seperate 64 bit register command/tool?

Thanks in advance, Onam.

*EDIT*

I have also downloaded the previous versions which contain the folder Unicode Release.x64 and followed the instructions and I get the error:

The module c:\unicode failed to load
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36318
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: GFlax + 64 bit Windows

Post by xnview »

Which version of windows do you use?
Pierre.
OnamCh
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:36 pm

Re: GFlax + 64 bit Windows

Post by OnamCh »

At the moment I am trying to install it on Windows 7 64 bit...
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36318
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: GFlax + 64 bit Windows

Post by xnview »

Do you register the dll with admin right?
Pierre.
OnamCh
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:36 pm

Re: GFlax + 64 bit Windows

Post by OnamCh »

Yes I did. However, I used the same bat file that came with the 32bit version to register the DLL. Is there a seperate bat file I need to use?

Sorry for the delay, I had a case of food poisoning :(
jwiardi
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 11:15 am

Re: GFlax + 64 bit Windows

Post by jwiardi »

How about this topic?

Since several weeks I own an 64 bits windows 7 PC. Debugging the existing software (using GFLAX version 2.82) is not possible. I downloaded the latest version 3.xx, and tried to register (regsvr32) this module. But without any luck!

How can I debug / run my software (based on GflAx) on a 64-bits windows 7 PC? Which GflAx version do I need?

Regards,

Jack
migrations
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: GFlax + 64 bit Windows

Post by migrations »

jwiardi wrote:How about this topic?

Since several weeks I own an 64 bits windows 7 PC. Debugging the existing software (using GFLAX version 2.82) is not possible. I downloaded the latest version 3.xx, and tried to register (regsvr32) this module. But without any luck!

How can I debug / run my software (based on GflAx) on a 64-bits windows 7 PC? Which GflAx version do I need?

Regards,

Jack
Hi,

I am using GflAx for a long time inside some classic .asp files. Where moving to x64 at the moment, but whatever i tried i am not able to get GflAx working in 64 bit modus. (missing .dlls). The 32 bit version works fine, but thats not what i want. Any options? (Even a beta version is fine for me)

Best regards,
Gerard
migrations
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: GFlax + 64 bit Windows

Post by migrations »

This worked for me:
One solution is to configure Component Services and create a COM+ Application containing GflAx.
To configure Component Services (found in Administrative Tools) expand the tree view on the left starting with the Component Services node. Below this is "Computers", "My Computer" and "COM+ Applications". Right click on COM+ Applications and select New Application and this opens the COM Application Install Wizard. On the first page of the wizard click the button to create an empty application, give it a name and leave the radio button set to "server application". The next page allows
you to select an account that will be used when the component runs. The default is the current logged on user but any network account can be used and the username and password entered. That completes the wizard and the application now appears on the tree. Expand this and right click on the Components
folder and select New Component to begin the COM Component Install Wizard. If the component is already registered the middle button can be clicked and csImageFile selected from the list. The properties of the COM+ Application can be modified by right clicking on the application in the
tree view. It is important that the checkbox marked "Enforce access checks..." on the Security tab is cleared, otherwise an ASP 0178 error may result. In earlier versions of Windows this box is clear by default but from Windows 2003 it is checked by default so it must be modified.
Always restart IIS after making changes to a COM+ Application.