Batch Rename - Partially Mixed Case / Generic Text Replace

Bugs and Issues in 1.82 Test versions which have been fixed and verified as resolved.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Wed Jan 19, 2005 11:31 pm

helmut wrote:Perhapse an option "[x] Case sensitive" might make sense, too.
I think, 'Case sensitive' should be disabled by default and option to enable/disable it would be useful just for few users and is not needed.

For example:
- original name is "Grand Theft Auto San Andreas 01.jpg"
- you need to replace "Grand Theft Auto" with "GTA"
- it would be easier type "grand theft auto" than "Grand Theft Auto"
- also users will expect that 'Case sensitive' is disabled
- it might be confusing for some users (of course not for us :wink: )

Lostclown
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:21 am
Location: Iceland

Post by Lostclown » Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:02 am

Dreamer wrote:
Lostclown wrote:The problem here is to decide what is useful for many users and what is useful for a few or only a single user.
Yes and I think it would be very useful for many users, why you think it doesn't?
I believe that Pierre is right that generic replace is more useful than "replace underscore with spaces".
And it is good that is what he is implementing as it seems to solve all the requirements requested in this thread.
It also at the same time keeps things simple and useful, and users happy :)

I feel that batch rename is somewhat an extra feature in XnView and should be relatively simple.
If many option would be added to it, it could get complicated to develop and maintain.
And I was simply worried this could slow down development on features I find more important in
an image tool. But then, that is probably just me being a little selfish :)
Dreamer wrote:Look at "Insert>>" button, how many features there are, i don't think one more feature ("Generic replace") would be confusing, there is enough space there, e.g. beside "Start/Step"
The difference in my opinion is that these are image specific rename options that are usually
not available in special rename tools that don't have a focus on images.
It is less likely to be found elsewhere and should therefore absolutely be in XnView.

I am sure Pierre has and will make the right decisions on XnView for us the users!

Regards,
Lostclown

P.S. Hope there are not as many But's in this post :wink:

Lostclown
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:21 am
Location: Iceland

Post by Lostclown » Thu Jan 20, 2005 2:33 pm

Dreamer wrote:
helmut wrote:Perhapse an option "[x] Case sensitive" might make sense, too.
I think, 'Case sensitive' should be disabled by default and option to enable/disable it would be useful just for few users and is not needed.
I agree that "Case sensitive" should be disable by default if included.
If it is useful for few or many users is however difficult to tell.

Warning: I am gonna "but" you again :)

But as a general rule of thumb a simple and powerful feature is better than a very specialized feature
as it can be used in many ways and is therefore more likely to be useful to many people.
A good example of this is that the generic replace feature is more useful than the original
idea of the "Replace underscore with spaces" feature.
Your good but imperfect idea was lead to a much better one through discussion :)

Best regards,
Lostclown

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:38 pm

Another idea - submenu for Replace/With feature: (maybe it's not needed, maybe it would be useful ??)

- blank
- space
- underscore '_'
- 'Image'
- ... ?

Edit: Another rename of this topic from "Batch Rename - Partially Mixed Case/Convert _ to space" to "Batch Rename - Partially Mixed Case / Generic Text Replace"

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:57 pm

Added in 1.80, thanks Pierre, just minor...

Please change (or add new) option "First letters uppercase" - now just name is affected, could change also extension case to lowercase?

E.g.:

Old filename - "GRAND THEFT AUTO 001.JPG"
New filename in 1.80 - "Grand Thef Auto 001.JPG"
New filename, I'd like to have - "Grand Thef Auto 001.jpg"

Thanks.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Mon Dec 12, 2005 12:13 am

Dreamer wrote:Added in 1.80, thanks Pierre, just minor...

Please change (or add new) option "First letters uppercase" - now just name is affected, could change also extension case to lowercase?

E.g.:

Old filename - "GRAND THEFT AUTO 001.JPG"
New filename in 1.80 - "Grand Thef Auto 001.JPG"
New filename, I'd like to have - "Grand Thef Auto 001.jpg"

Thanks.
Any chance for this little improvement in 1.82?

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33644
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:36 am

Dreamer wrote:
Dreamer wrote:Added in 1.80, thanks Pierre, just minor...

Please change (or add new) option "First letters uppercase" - now just name is affected, could change also extension case to lowercase?

E.g.:

Old filename - "GRAND THEFT AUTO 001.JPG"
New filename in 1.80 - "Grand Thef Auto 001.JPG"
New filename, I'd like to have - "Grand Thef Auto 001.jpg"

Thanks.
Any chance for this little improvement in 1.82?
But you can if you change extension??
Pierre.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Mon Dec 12, 2005 10:53 pm

xnview wrote:
Dreamer wrote:
Dreamer wrote:Added in 1.80, thanks Pierre, just minor...

Please change (or add new) option "First letters uppercase" - now just name is affected, could change also extension case to lowercase?

E.g.:

Old filename - "GRAND THEFT AUTO 001.JPG"
New filename in 1.80 - "Grand Thef Auto 001.JPG"
New filename, I'd like to have - "Grand Thef Auto 001.jpg"

Thanks.
Any chance for this little improvement in 1.82?
But you can if you change extension??
Yes, but only for the same file type and it's not easy to check if all files have same ext. For more file types I must use Batch rename twice.

I think no one wants results like these:
- Image One.Jpg
- Image Two.JPG
- Image Three.jpg

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:06 am

It work perfect now, thanks Pierre. :)

Closed.

Locked