open from network

Bugs and Issues in 1.82 Test versions which have been fixed and verified as resolved.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

open from network

Post by Danny » Fri Dec 23, 2005 12:18 am

If i open an image lying on a network drive, it'll open a new program window in order to display it, instead of opening in in the current one.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Not here---

Post by Clo » Fri Dec 23, 2005 1:01 am

:) Hi !

I cannot confirm. Here, I open a picture from a network-drive directly in "View" in the same window…

- For instance, I opened : \\Claude33\DGROS6\Images\Bearz___Close_up.jpg, while the mounted corresponding drive is visible as U: in the tree of the "Open…" dialogue-box, no problem.

:mrgreen: G
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Fri Dec 23, 2005 1:22 am

Can't confirm.

How do you open it, through folder tree?

Try default settings - remove / rename .ini.

User avatar
ckv
Posts: 786
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 2:30 pm
Location: Glow
Contact:

Re: open from network

Post by ckv » Fri Dec 23, 2005 9:29 am

Danny wrote:If i open an image lying on a network drive, it'll open a new program window in order to display it, instead of opening in in the current one.
Could you be more specific. Do you mean that when you open picture in windows explorer, it opens the picture in new XnView process (and you use the Only one instance option). Or do you mean that you use the XnView browser to open the image...
Last edited by ckv on Fri Dec 23, 2005 10:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
XnView Tweak UI - Tool to customize your XnView beyond the regular XnView options.
UI-less Settings - Documentation of all the hidden settings in XnView.
XFAM - Tool to create and customize XnView file associations.

Xyzzy
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Poland

Re: open from network

Post by Xyzzy » Fri Dec 23, 2005 9:30 am

Danny wrote:If i open an image lying on a network drive, it'll open a new program window in order to display it, instead of opening in in the current one.
Please specify how do you open the file.
X.

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Danny » Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:47 pm

Found out what's causing it. You have to disable scanning of headers (only on fixed disks).

But first make sure your cache is empty or turned off.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Sat Dec 24, 2005 1:14 am

Danny wrote:Found out what's causing it. You have to disable scanning of headers (only on fixed disks).

But first make sure your cache is empty or turned off.
Still can't confirm, with scanning headers option "never" and "only on fixed disks".

Please explain more. What Windows do you have?

BTW - I found another bug :bug: (I'll start a new topic).
Dreamer

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Danny » Sat Dec 24, 2005 10:53 am

Dreamer wrote:
Danny wrote:Found out what's causing it. You have to disable scanning of headers (only on fixed disks).

But first make sure your cache is empty or turned off.
Still can't confirm, with scanning headers option "never" and "only on fixed disks".

Please explain more. What Windows do you have?

BTW - I found another bug :bug: (I'll start a new topic).
Have you emptied your cache and disabled it?

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:38 am

Danny wrote:Have you emptied your cache and disabled it?
Yes, but we need more information...

Xyzzy
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Poland

Post by Xyzzy » Tue Dec 27, 2005 11:06 am

No confirmation here. Might be related to filetype recognition problems in other posts.

X.

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Danny » Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:18 pm

Still the same thing with beta3. Once again the required settings:

- image from somewhere on the network
- scanning of headers disabled
- cache disabled
- browser NOT in thumbnail view (header of the file must NOT be scanned already (no colored backgrond behind the filename))

If you now open an image it'll open in a new program window. Tried with a completely new installation of beta3. Don't open the folder containing the files before you have made all the settings mentioned above!

Xyzzy
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Poland

Post by Xyzzy » Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:46 pm

Do you access network drive via UNC path or letter?

X.

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Danny » Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:08 pm

Xyzzy wrote:Do you access network drive via UNC path or letter?

X.
Direct network access (UNC path). I just realized that with the mentioned settings the problem also occurs with local files.

Xyzzy
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Poland

Post by Xyzzy » Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:46 pm

Danny, can you try with renaming INI before starting XnView?

X.

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Danny » Sat Jan 07, 2006 8:22 pm

Xyzzy wrote:Danny, can you try with renaming INI before starting XnView?

X.
I just did that and still got the same thing. I deactivated scanning of headers and the cache, switched to list mode, opened a folder which i had never opened before, opened an image within that folder and got the mentioned bug.

Locked