jpg to dds OK in DXT5 but not in DXT1 ?

Discussions on NConvert - the command line tool for image conversion and manipulation

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
PhM34
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:06 pm

jpg to dds OK in DXT5 but not in DXT1 ?

Post by PhM34 »

Hi Pierre,
I knew many years XnView but I never used NConvert.
I have the latest version (v6.05 NConvert Windows XP) and I can not understand how to choose the type of output format dds. From a jpg, I would need a conversion to DXT1 dds and I can get that in the dds DXT5.
Is this possible and if so, how indicated that choice?
In any case, I join this community to congratulate you for this fantastic work spread over so many years!
Philippe, Montpellier France

Batch :
start C:\XnView\nconvert -out dds -resize 2048 2048 file1.jpg
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33831
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: jpg to dds OK in DXT5 but not in DXT1 ?

Post by xnview »

No sorry currently no way to choose compression...
Pierre.
quintus
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:45 pm

Re: jpg to dds OK in DXT5 but not in DXT1 ?

Post by quintus »

xnview wrote:No sorry currently no way to choose compression...
This is unfortunate, it basically makes XnConvert/nConvert useless for converting to DDS, as a developer will always want to select the optimum pixel format based on the source material. I always use a mix of DXT1, DXT1a, DXT3, and DXT5.
the_papy
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:17 am

Re: jpg to dds OK in DXT5 but not in DXT1 ?

Post by the_papy »

any update now for DXT5?
Post Reply