Wrong GPS location displayed in GoogleEarth

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView MP

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
User avatar
ramses
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:54 pm

Wrong GPS location displayed in GoogleEarth

Post by ramses »

I found a problem with the GPS tools. The exemple is a picture from the centrum of Celle in Germany.
With GeoHack and GoogleMaps i got a good map:
Image

But with GoogleEarth the place under the pin is about 80 kms in the south !!!

Image
Of course it's the same with others pictures.

For the GPS tools I suggest some features found in GeoSetter working under Windows: create geographic coordonnates and places names in IPTC keywords with the help of a Google map .
Jean
LinuxMint 15 / XnView MP 0.64
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34096
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: GPS

Post by xnview »

Could you send me the picture file?
Pierre.
User avatar
ramses
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:54 pm

Re: GPS

Post by ramses »

Hello Pierre
I try to use "message privé" but iI don't know how to link a file to it. Sorry
Jean
LinuxMint 15 / XnView MP 0.64
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: GPS

Post by Dreamer »

Please send the file via email: contact at xnview dot com .
Dreamer
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34096
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: GPS

Post by xnview »

Strange for me it's good. On windows?
Pierre.
User avatar
ramses
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:54 pm

Re: GPS

Post by ramses »

It's no problem with the Google map you display in your GPS tab. With an other picture from Goslar everything is allright.
The problem is with the data you send to GoogleEarth when I use "Open location in GoogleEarth" in the Tools menu. As you see the pin on GoogleEarth is 104 kms in the south.

Image
Jean
LinuxMint 15 / XnView MP 0.64
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34096
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: GPS

Post by xnview »

If i try with the picture that you have sent to me, google earth show me "Celle" like geohack...
Do you use windows?
Pierre.
User avatar
ramses
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:54 pm

Re: GPS

Post by ramses »

On my signature I said I use Linux Ubuntu.
But if I open under Windows XP and I select the Celle picture:
-in your GPS tab I get a good map
-in the Tools menu the item "Open GPS location in Google Earth..." is deasabled (for GeoHack it's enable)
I have not this problem with Ubuntu.
Jean
LinuxMint 15 / XnView MP 0.64
User avatar
ramses
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:54 pm

Re: GPS

Post by ramses »

I re-install Google Earth and stop/start XnViewMP. Same problem on Windows XP (item "Open GPS location in Google Earth..." is disabled)
Jean
LinuxMint 15 / XnView MP 0.64
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34096
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: GPS

Post by xnview »

I would like to send you a .kml file, could you send me your email by PM?
Pierre.
User avatar
ramses
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:54 pm

Re: GPS

Post by ramses »

your .kml on Linux

Image
Jean
LinuxMint 15 / XnView MP 0.64
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34096
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: GPS

Post by xnview »

ramses wrote:your .kml on Linux
And on windows, the same?
Pierre.
heyman
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:33 am

Re: GPS

Post by heyman »

The problem is not xnview, it's a google earth problem (more precisely, it's a bug from the medibuntu version).
For fix this, you need to add this line in the beginning of the google earth executable, a line after "#!/bin/bash"
LC_ALL=C googleearth

(gksu gedit /usr/bin/googleearth)
User avatar
ramses
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:54 pm

Re: GPS

Post by ramses »

You are right Herman
I apologize to didn't give how to solve this problem after some exchanges with Xnview.
But a better way is to use : "LC_NUMERIC=en_US.UTF-8 googleearth YourFile.kml" in the command line.
So GoogleEarth is still in your system locale, but the numbers match the US format.
Jean
LinuxMint 15 / XnView MP 0.64
Post Reply