? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView MP

Moderators: helmut, XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by JohnFredC »

As far as I can tell, Options->Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture disables a persistent crop rectangle, which means it disables Crop.

Maybe I am missing something. How is it supposed to work?
John
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by JohnFredC »

OK, this is how:
  • 1. Select Edit->Crop
    2. Draw crop rectangle with right mouse button
John
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37769
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by xnview »

And is it good like that? I think that crop in XnView win is not so good....
Pierre.
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by JohnFredC »

Well, I can get used to the "new" way but would like some method/UI of combining the two methods.

Here is a previous old post about this topic.

The "old" way of cropping (in XnView) would be called "postfix" cropping. This is essentially a modeless approach to the cropping activity: the user selects the area, then the tool/action. This is similar to how HP calculators work, for instance.

The "new" way of cropping (in MP) would be called "prefix" cropping: the user selects the tool first, then the area. This is similar to the way "standard" calculators work

XnView's "old" way causes some confusion with new users because most image editors employ the "new" way. IMO the "old" method is "one UI action" faster, however.
John
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37769
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by xnview »

JohnFredC wrote:Well, I can get used to the "new" way but would like some method/UI of combining the two methods.
And how? :-D By default you can't make anymore a selection!
Pierre.
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by JohnFredC »

Perhaps with a modifier key (CTRL, etc.) ?

Holding down CTRL and right-dragging the marque would enable the old behavior/button.
John
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37769
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by xnview »

JohnFredC wrote:Perhaps with a modifier key (CTRL, etc.) ?
So without CTRL => new method, with CTRL => selection (the CROP toolbox must be opened here???)
Pierre.
JohanP
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:28 pm
Location: Germany

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by JohanP »

At first I had also problems with the new method, but now I am used to it.
This new crop toolbox is great.
A shortcut (shift-X) to open the crop toolbox would be good.

JohanP
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by JohnFredC »

xnview wrote:So without CTRL => new method, with CTRL => selection (the CROP toolbox must be opened here???)
That sounds good to me, though I probably wouldn't want to display the crop toolbox for the "old" method. One reason for this is that the crop toolbox causes the image to shift downward on the screen, something always to be avoided if possible (the image should not shift under the mouse).

However, if supporting the "old" method is not worth the effort, I certainly can live with the "new" method, which is the prevalent method elsewhere, and which offers a useful UI.

To be complete, however, IMO the "new" crop tool box at least needs to show X and Y offsets, too.
John
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37769
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by xnview »

And i think that i can remove now Edit/Set selection size/Ratio now. No more needed...
right?
Pierre.
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by JohnFredC »

And i think that i can remove now Edit/Set selection size/Ratio now. No more needed...
right?
Technically, "Yes".... except I am always in favor of UI redundancy. 8)


Pierre, would it be possible to ALSO float a Crop toolbox adjacent to the crop marque as PaintShopPro does it? PSP has both. Like this:

Image
John
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37769
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by xnview »

JohnFredC wrote:
And i think that i can remove now Edit/Set selection size/Ratio now. No more needed...
right?
Technically, "Yes".... except I am always in favor of UI redundancy. 8)
But here we have all in the crop toolbox...
Pierre, would it be possible to ALSO float a Crop toolbox adjacent to the crop marque as PaintShopPro does it? PSP has both. Like this:

Image
Hum, redundant? Perhaps i can use only floating toolbox??
Pierre.
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: ? How to crop when Keyboard->Left button=Move Picture

Post by JohnFredC »

Perhaps i can use only floating toolbox?
PSP can display both toolbars simultaneously (which is UI convenience for the user), but "only the floating" is certainly OK with me.

"only the floating"... with apologies to Roy Orbison. 8)
John