Copy To / Move To... a folder which already exists - no joy

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView MP

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

User avatar
m.Th.
XnThusiast
Posts: 1610
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:31 am

Copy To / Move To... a folder which already exists - no joy

Post by m.Th. »

Having c:\foo\ in thumbs pane.
Press Alt+C with the 'bar' subfolder selected in order to copy it to d:\blah.

However in d:\blah there is already a subfolder with the same name: 'bar'. The program 'sees' this and pops-up the Conflict dialog for the '..' (directory) files asking if we want to Rename, Replace, Replace All, Skip etc. I chose 'Skip'. No other file was merged in the already existing destination folder.

1. The dialog is wrong. The correct way in which folder merge should be handled is given by eg. Win 7's copy/move engine. One cannot use a file conflict dialog with two black preview rectangles for directories. It is very confusing and the buttons doesn't fit and doesn't work.

2. The dialog is wrong. Again. It shows in the 'Replace' box the source directory and in the 'With' box the destination directory. IOW the things are swapped.
m. Th.

- Dark Themed XnViewMP 1.0 64bit on Win10 x64 -
User avatar
oops66
XnThusiast
Posts: 2005
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:17 am
Location: France

Re: Copy To / Move To... a folder which already exists - no

Post by oops66 »

...Right
XnViewMP Linux X64 - Debian - X64
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38704
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Copy To / Move To... a folder which already exists - no

Post by xnview »

Pierre.