Request: Save dialog only needed when actual changes made

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView MP

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
User avatar
budz45
XnThusiast
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: UK

Request: Save dialog only needed when actual changes made

Post by budz45 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:41 pm

Hi,

I'm running XnViewMP 0.64 n Windows 7 sp1
2014-02-14_232934.png
2014-02-14_232934.png (30.15 KiB) Viewed 482 times
Ok when I edit a picture in view mode, then I make a "save" (ctrl+s) then the changes I have made to the picture are saved after a yes/no confirmation prompt is shown. Very normal....HOWEVER....

...If I "save" (ctrl+s) the picture again then I am greeted with the same Confirm prompt and also after pressing 'yes' a save is made possible again without me making any further changes to the file in view mode. I can save again and again and again without. Actually I could open any new picture file in view mode and just do a "save" without making any changes to the file.

Simply put it, XnViewMP needs to only allow saving (with confirm prompt) once an actual change has been made the file AND for if the file itself is deleted off the system from another program but still loaded in XnViewMP view mode
All My Topics || my 'MP' Topics
My own Bookmarked topics--->for me only

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31889
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Request: Save dialog only needed when actual changes mad

Post by xnview » Thu Mar 06, 2014 1:50 pm

Why, you must be able to save the file even if it's already saved...
Pierre.

Post Reply