Page 1 of 1

memory leak on linux

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:24 pm
by rmtk
It seems that there is a memory leak problem in recent versions of XnviewMP linux. When I view or edit photos in a folder containing hundreds of photos, all system memory (4gb in my computer) was eaten up in several minutes.

Re: memory leak on linux

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:15 am
by xnview
do you reproduce?

Re: memory leak on linux

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:19 pm
by rmtk
Yes, always. Sometimes it took just several minutes to eat up all memory, sometimes up to a hour.

Re: memory leak on linux

Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:12 pm
by xnview
how many files do you have?

Re: memory leak on linux

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 1:03 pm
by rmtk
500-1500 in a folder

Re: memory leak on linux

Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 4:23 pm
by xnview
rmtk wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 1:03 pm
500-1500 in a folder
Strange. big files?

Re: memory leak on linux

Posted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 1:00 pm
by rmtk
Just normal JPEGs taken by a DSLR, size 5~10MB.
It seems that it relates to thumbnail generating. I can see the memory usage of Xnview expands significantly after finish generating thumbnails of a new folder containing a lot of photos. After editing, new thumbnails generated and more memory used.

Re: memory leak on linux

Posted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 1:45 pm
by xnview
you start XnViewMP, browse this folder, and wait thumbnails generation?

Re: memory leak on linux

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 2:30 am
by rmtk
after some more test I think memory leak accurs mostly during photo editing, instead of thumbnail generating.

Re: memory leak on linux

Posted: Sat Feb 15, 2020 3:00 am
by rmtk
catalog optimizing also uses 2gb+ memory and never release after finished

Re: memory leak on linux

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 2:17 pm
by xnview
i don't see any memory leaks, you can have the sqlite engine that takes more and more memory...