0.98.2: Error when images are opened from dupeGuru

*** Please report new bugs here! ***

Moderator: Dreamer

Post Reply
orlydb
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 5:57 am

0.98.2: Error when images are opened from dupeGuru

Post by orlydb »

XnView: MP 0.98.2 - 64 bit
OS: Windows 10 64bit

I'm not sure if I should fill a bug report here or in dupeGuru's github page but I will fill it here right now because the actual error is shown in XnView MP.
Whenever I try to open an image file I get an error.

Effect: Program shows error message and doesn't open the image file.

To reproduce:
1. Add a folder in dupeguru containing two duplicated images
2. Scan for the dups using filename or picture mode, doesn't matter.
3. Try to open one of the duplicates

Actual behaviour (bug): Got this message:
This application failed to start because no Qt platform plugin could be initialized. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.

Available platform plugins are: minimal, offscreen, webgl, windows.
Expected behaviour: Open the image.
Last edited by orlydb on Sat Feb 27, 2021 2:58 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34681
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.98.0: Error when images are opened from dupeGuru

Post by xnview »

it seems that dupeGuru use Qt too, current folder should be changed to XnView when executing exe, i think
Pierre.
orlydb
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 5:57 am

Re: 0.98.0: Error when images are opened from dupeGuru

Post by orlydb »

Should I report this there or should I wait for an update?

Thanks.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34681
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.98.0: Error when images are opened from dupeGuru

Post by xnview »

orlydb wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 6:04 pm Should I report this there or should I wait for an update?
From my side, i can't change something...
Pierre.
orlydb
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 5:57 am

Re: 0.98.0: Error when images are opened from dupeGuru

Post by orlydb »

I posted the error on dupeGuru's issue tracker and the author told me this:
For step 3 I am interpreting that as you double click on one of the results to open the item? If so dupeguru only calls QDesktopServices.openUrl(url), which results in the default program for that file being launched to open it. The behavior after calling QDesktopServices.openUrl(url) is entirely dependent on Qt's implementation on windows and has no issue with other applications such as window's built-in photo viewer. This would appear to be an issue with XnView not being compatible with being launched through windows default. The actual launching is done as:
qt/qtbase@1ef5016/src/plugins/platforms/windows/qwindowsservices.cpp#L88-L90.
Which calls the windows shell function as:
qt/qtbase@1ef5016/src/plugins/platforms/windows/qwindowsservices.cpp#L67

Since dupeguru is just using the users currently selected default application through the windows API in this case we have no way to know other special requirements of the application such as "current folder should be changed to XnView when executing exe"
There are more comments about this, here is the issue so you can read it directly: https://github.com/arsenetar/dupeguru/issues/768
orlydb
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 5:57 am

Re: 0.98.0: Error when images are opened from dupeGuru

Post by orlydb »

xnview wrote: Fri Jan 22, 2021 9:43 am
orlydb wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 6:04 pm Should I report this there or should I wait for an update?
From my side, i can't change something...
Hi, any progress on this?

Thank you.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34681
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.98.0: Error when images are opened from dupeGuru

Post by xnview »

no, it seems that Qt libraires are not correclty loaded
Pierre.
orlydb
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 5:57 am

Re: 0.98.2: Error when images are opened from dupeGuru

Post by orlydb »

The problem is still present in 0.98.2. It also happens when I try to open the cover art from MusicBrainz Picard, I get the exact same error message.
Post Reply