[Bug] PSD to> conversion loses Alpha channel

XnConvert Multi Platform - Windows, MacOSX, Linux
Post Reply
Invertex
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:22 pm

[Bug] PSD to> conversion loses Alpha channel

Post by Invertex » Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:26 pm

It would seem for some reason XnConvert is not detecting the Alpha channel in a PSD. When converted to another format, like TIFF, the alpha channel is missing. But, if I save out a TGA from Photoshop and then convert that with XnConvert, the Alpha channel is retained.

I've attached an example PSD file.
Attachments
F_Rabbit_Head_Primary_Detail_Mask.zip
(368.13 KiB) Downloaded 23 times

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 30122
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: [Bug] PSD to> conversion loses Alpha channel

Post by xnview » Tue Jun 13, 2017 1:41 pm

could you send the TGA file?
Pierre.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5318
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: [Bug] PSD to> conversion loses Alpha channel

Post by XnTriq » Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:45 pm

FYI: According to Photoshop CS2, this file has an alpha channel but no layers. Perhaps that's why XnConvert doesn't pick it up.
p143110.zip
32-bit PNG + TGA
(908.57 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
p143110_1.png
p143110_2.png
p143110_5.png
p143110_5.png (24.97 KiB) Viewed 374 times
p143110_4.png
p143110_3.png
p143110_3.png (2.34 KiB) Viewed 374 times

Invertex
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:22 pm

Re: [Bug] PSD to> conversion loses Alpha channel

Post by Invertex » Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:11 pm

xnview wrote:could you send the TGA file?
Sure, here you go.

Also I should mentioned that these are Photoshop CC 2017 files, maybe some 2016 ones. So perhaps something changed with PSD files recently that has broken PSD Alpha channel detection in xnconvert.
Attachments
F_Rabbit_Head_Primary_Detail_Mask_TGA.zip
(494.83 KiB) Downloaded 20 times

Post Reply