Converting PDFs to TIFFs using multiple CPU cores

XnConvert Multi Platform - Windows, MacOSX, Linux

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

Percentage
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2024 6:09 pm

Converting PDFs to TIFFs using multiple CPU cores

Post by Percentage »

Version: "XnConvert Version 1.100.1 - windows x64 (Feb 25 2024) - Libformat version 7.172"

Hello, I have added a list of single page PDF's to convert to TIF, however every time I hit convert XnView disables multiple cpu usage and doesn't allow me to use it... I know for a fact none of these PDF's are multipage, I've even tried just converting one file of this list just to make double darn sure and it still said it was a multi-sheet PDF when it's not. They are 42"x30" documents so yes they are large but not multiple sheets.

I am using the 64 bit version from the zip file so it all should be included for what I need correct?

I'm trying XnView out because Irfan works but it does not support multiple threads at all and I have to open a bunch of Irfan windows just to have some semblance of a multhread approach and it's just dumb...

My options are attached, thanks for any help.
Screenshot - 1.jpg
Screenshot - 2.jpg
Screenshot - 3.jpg
Screenshot - 4.jpg
To reproduce this, (assuming you have the 64bit Ghostscript installed)

[1] Simply add a PDF to the file list, I've attached 2 example files to my message that cause the error.
Test PDF - Copy.pdf
TITLE PAGE.pdf
[2] Attempt to convert the PDF to TIF with multiple CPU option checked, I've set to SKIP if file already exists.

[3] What results is that the program will always throw an error and will disable the multiple CPU option every time:
Screenshot - 5 - The Error.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Percentage on Tue Jun 25, 2024 12:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 4054
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Converting PDF's to TIF with Multiple CPU Option

Post by cday »

Percentage wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 6:56 pm I have added a list of single page PDF's to convert to TIF, however every time I hit convert XnView disables multiple cpu usage and doesn't allow me to use it... I know for a fact none of these PDF's are multipage, I've even tried just converting one file of this list just to make double darn sure and it still said it was a multi-sheet PDF when it's not. They are 42"x30" documents so yes they are large but not multiple sheets.
Are you able to share an example PDF file, that might be a good place to start?

And could you confirm that you have Ghostscript 64-bit installed, and a suitable opening DPI resolution set on the Settings tab > Load format settings... > Read tab -- PS/PDF tab? You should also be able to see a preview of each file loaded on the Actions tab.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 4054
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Converting PDF's to TIF with Multiple CPU Option

Post by cday »

Note that I've just updated my previous post... :wink:
Percentage
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2024 6:09 pm

Re: Converting PDF's to TIF with Multiple CPU Option

Post by Percentage »

Sure thing, see test PDF attached which also caused this same error all by itself, thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Percentage
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2024 6:09 pm

Re: Converting PDF's to TIF with Multiple CPU Option

Post by Percentage »

cday wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 7:56 pm Note that I've just updated my previous post... :wink:
I have Ghostscript 10.03.1 (2024-05-02) installed which should be 64 bit as that is the version I installed from their website
"Ghostscript 10.03.1 for Windows (64 bit)"

And yes, thanks for asking but I do see a preview of the PDF in the program before converting.

My Load Format Settings for my PDF are below:
Screenshot - 4.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 4054
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Converting PDF's to TIF with Multiple CPU Option

Post by cday »

Percentage wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 6:56 pm I have added a list of single page PDF's to convert to TIF, however every time I hit convert XnView disables multiple cpu usage and doesn't allow me to use it... I know for a fact none of these PDF's are multipage,...
Presumably the message you see is this one?

Screenshot from 2024-06-24 21-12-35.png

'Ask' mode refers to the Output tab option If an output file already exists, I don't read the message as saying that your file is a multipage file.

I've tried several possible selections but still get the same warning, maybe you can gain some further insight into the issue, otherwise it may be an issue for Pierre tomorrow.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Percentage
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2024 6:09 pm

Re: Converting PDF's to TIF with Multiple CPU Option

Post by Percentage »

cday wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:33 pm
Percentage wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 6:56 pm I have added a list of single page PDF's to convert to TIF, however every time I hit convert XnView disables multiple cpu usage and doesn't allow me to use it... I know for a fact none of these PDF's are multipage,...
Presumably the message you see is this one?

Screenshot from 2024-06-24 21-12-35.png

'Ask' mode refers to the Output tab option If an output file already exists, I've tried several possible selections but still get the same warning, maybe you can gain some further insight into the issue, otherwise it may be an issue for Pierre tomorrow.
Yes that is the error I am seeing

I have been trying different things and for whatever reason it's the same result unfortunately.

It seems to have something to do with how the program is reading the PDF's as I've trying converting to different image formats with the same result.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 4054
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Converting PDF's to TIF with Multiple CPU Option

Post by cday »

To be clear, I don't read the above message as suggesting that your files are multipage, it more likely I think relates to the use of 'Ask' mode, although it seems to arise more widely.

Edit: Something you might test is whether the problem is actually specific to your test images, or whether it would actually arise with any PDF file.

If you are unable to identify the problem yourself, I suggest that to avoid possible confusion you post minimal steps to reproduce the problem, starting with a clean ZIP version, so that Pierre can immediately see the actual issue.
Percentage
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2024 6:09 pm

Re: Converting PDF's to TIF with Multiple CPU Option

Post by Percentage »

cday wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 9:04 pm To be clear, I don't read the above message as suggesting that your files are multipage, it more likely I think relates to the use of 'Ask' mode, although it seems to arise more widely.

Edit: Something you might test is whether the problem is actually specific to your test images, or whether it would actually arise with any PDF file.

If you are unable to identify the problem yourself, I suggest that to avoid possible confusion you post minimal steps to reproduce the problem, starting with a clean ZIP version, so that Pierre can immediately see the actual issue.
Thanks I have added steps to the end of my original post and attached two different single page PDF's that cause the error. One is a big sheet and the other is a simple one page 8.5 x 11.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 4054
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Converting PDFs to TIFFs using multiple CPU cores

Post by cday »

cday wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 9:04 pm If you are unable to identify the problem yourself, I suggest that to avoid possible confusion you post minimal steps to reproduce the issue you are experiencing, starting with a clean ZIP version, so that Pierre can immediately see the actual issue.
The edits you made to your first post didn't really provide an easy way for Pierre to quickly identify the real issue: Pierre as the sole developer of all XnView software has a high workload with limited time to investigate issues, so needs to be able to quickly reproduce problems in order to understand them and identify the cause.

I tried to make some tests myself, but as primarily a Linux user now experienced problems investigating the problem quickly in Windows. However, I now have a suspicion that the issue may be no more than confusion arising from the text of the pop-up warning reproduced in your post above.

May I therefore suggest that you test, avoiding the Output tab 'Ask' option and cancelling the warning when it appears, with enough source files to reliably determine whether or not enabling multiple CPU use does result in the reduction in conversion run time that would be expected. If it does, then the issue would seem to be with the text of the warning and the situations in which it is displayed.