Is there GPU acceleration?

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

FKCapitalism2
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2023 5:14 am

Is there GPU acceleration?

Post by FKCapitalism2 »

Is GPU accleration supported, i bought a new GPU, but don't see much increase in performance using XnView Mp
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43723
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Is there GPU acceleration?

Post by xnview »

No
Pierre.
FKCapitalism2
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2023 5:14 am

Re: Is there GPU acceleration?

Post by FKCapitalism2 »

Could you add feature to cache/preload 2-5 next and previous images (relative to the one currently open in full screen mode) to the RAM, this would make switching the images a bit faster.
FKCapitalism2
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2023 5:14 am

Re: Is there GPU acceleration?

Post by FKCapitalism2 »

After purchasing Video Card for my PC i tried few software that support GPU acceleration FastRawViewer and ACDSee, when i scroll with mouse wheel or arrow keys images switch so fast, would love to see similar performance in XnView MP some day.

So far what's your recommendation to achieve better performance with XnView MP, buying a faster CPU will allow faster switching between images?

I currently have i5-4460
FKCapitalism2
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2023 5:14 am

Re: Is there GPU acceleration?

Post by FKCapitalism2 »

From what i understand you already have this implemented, but it loads only one image ahead, how about to allow people with lots of RAM to specify number of images they want to load ahead.

Image
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43723
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Is there GPU acceleration?

Post by xnview »

FKCapitalism2 wrote: Sun Oct 01, 2023 4:21 pm From what i understand you already have this implemented, but it loads only one image ahead, how about to allow people with lots of RAM to specify number of images they want to load ahead.
I'll add a number of images setting
Pierre.
philalethia
Banned
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2023 10:20 am

Re: Is there GPU acceleration?

Post by philalethia »

FKCapitalism2 wrote: Sun Oct 01, 2023 4:21 pm From what i understand you already have this implemented, but it loads only one image ahead, how about to allow people with lots of RAM to specify number of images they want to load ahead.
Reading ahead, isn't GPU acceleration, unless it is specifically done through the GPU.
It can just as well be done, using the CPU and regular RAM.
FKCapitalism2
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2023 5:14 am

Re: Is there GPU acceleration?

Post by FKCapitalism2 »

How many CPU coreas/threads are supported? If i get 12 cores 24 threads CPU will all of them be used?
ckit
XnThusiast
Posts: 2568
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 1:11 am
Location: QLD, Australia

Re: Is there GPU acceleration?

Post by ckit »

ImageGlass 9 Final now has Hardware Acceleration (uses .NET 8.0 and WebView2 too!)
AMD Ryzen 3 3300X 3.8Ghz, 16Gb DDR4, RX6600XT with Dell U2520D at 2560x1440@60Hz
Windows 11 Pro x64 23H2, PowerToys and Wintoys
FKCapitalism2
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2023 5:14 am

Re: Is there GPU acceleration?

Post by FKCapitalism2 »

ckit wrote: Sat Nov 25, 2023 10:29 am ImageGlass 9 Final now has Hardware Acceleration (uses .NET 8.0 and WebView2 too!)
Tried that and i did not like the interface and fact you need to install some additional frameworks. But most importantly it was not that much HW accelerated, seems like that viewer only accelerate the zoom and pan, the image loading speed when you switch images is slower than with XnView.
Seems like HW acceleration only works for < 16MP images.
Performance improvements

Image interaction is significantly improved in ImageGlass v9.0 beta 1 thanks to hardware acceleration (GPU). You can see and feel it when performing zooming, panning action. However, it still has some limitations: only non-alpha pixel format can be rendered with GPU, and the maximum image dimmension for GPU rendering should be less than 16,380 pixels.
User avatar
aucora
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2024 5:55 am

Re: Is there GPU acceleration?

Post by aucora »

As mentioned above, I also need to load multiple images into the cache in advance.

When I compare several adjacent images, they switch slowly, which troubles me a lot.

If I could choose to add multiple images to the cache, the process would be much more comfortable.