Toolbar not showing in view mode

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

bdrifter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 8:54 am

Toolbar not showing in view mode

Post by bdrifter »

Hello, I've recently updated to 1.6.4, but noticed that in view mode, the toolbar doesn't appear unless I press its hotkey (Ctrl+Shift+T), then it shows, but only for the current session. The toolbar then disappears again when I launch XnView the next time.

The strange thing is, when I dig through the .ini file, the toolbar setting under Viewer is always true, as is the toggle under settings.

Any ideas?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43098
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Toolbar not showing in view mode

Post by xnview »

try to remove state in [Viewer] section (make a backup of xnview.ini)
Pierre.
bdrifter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 8:54 am

Re: Toolbar not showing in view mode

Post by bdrifter »

So I "fixed" it, but not by removing the state parameter.

This is what I did and assumed happened:
I have a system install of XnView (0.98.0) and a new portable one (1.6.4) the new one, on launch, accessed the settings of the old one by default, so the problem I had was caused by the old one's settings. Removing the parameter of the old one's .ini before launching the new one again did not work, nor did removing everything entirely from the [Viewer] section. If I change the new one's path settings to its own folder ("Program (XnView)"), it would make a copy of the old one's settings in the new one's folder, so the problem will persist. So the way I solved it was uninstall the old one, and set up the new one again, preventing it from carrying over any of the old settings.

While this is likely a pretty edge case, I would propose adding a feature that forces any new copy of XnView to go through the initialization process where users setup the paths. This would only affect users who run multiple copies of XnView, who should be making an intentional choice for each new copy they run anyway, and avoid accidentally having older settings which may not be compatible with new features "tainting" the new copy or forcing an uninstall of the old one.

That's based on what I think happened at least.
Hope that helps!
bdrifter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 8:54 am

Re: Toolbar not showing in view mode

Post by bdrifter »

Hm, after spending some time setting up the settings I realized that I didn't fix the problem.

It seems the toolbar toggle settings still doesn't "stick" in the fullscreen viewer mode.
It doesn't show by default, and if I turn it on with hotkeys, it won't show the next time,
clearing the Viewer parameters doesn't work either. I guess I'm back to square one.

Any other suggestions? Thanks in advance
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43098
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Toolbar not showing in view mode

Post by xnview »

showing toolbar in fullscreen is only temporary
Pierre.
bdrifter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 8:54 am

Re: Toolbar not showing in view mode

Post by bdrifter »

Understood, thanks for the clarification!
Would it be possible to have a setting that keeps it on in the future?