How can I create an image with a transparent background?

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderator: xnview

User avatar
XnTriq
Forum Librarian
Posts: 6580
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: How can I create an image with a transparent background?

Post by XnTriq »

Next in line: scanned ballpoint pen signature
  1. Open EqIcy.jpg in XnView Classic
  2. Image → Map → Automatic contrast
  3. Image → Map → Posterize… → 16
  4. Image → Resize… → 25% / Bilinear
  5. Filter → Effects… → Enhance → Enhance Detail
  6. Image → 32 bits
  7. Filter → Adobe Photoshop Plug-In…
    1. Mac's → Remove White
      MACWHITE.png
    2. Mehdi → Eraser Classic…
      Eraser_Classic.png
    3. Mehdi → Eraser Genuine…
      Eraser_Genuine.png
    4. Mike and Yael → KillWhite…
      KillWhite.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
XnTriq
Forum Librarian
Posts: 6580
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: How can I create an image with a transparent background?

Post by XnTriq »

nightsvallow @ deviantArt: Removing a background: Free Tool xnView

Elk wrote: Sat Mar 06, 2021 10:55 amYes, I dragged and dropped the image over an open odt in LibreOffice and it appears to look good
Last but not least: Most word processors (LibreOffice, OpenOffce, Microsoft Office etc.) allow the user to set the transparency in images.
Elk
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: How can I create an image with a transparent background?

Post by Elk »

Many thanks for the examples.

I have 32bit versions only. So I obviously had to install a portable XnView 32bit additionally, I assume.
User avatar
XnTriq
Forum Librarian
Posts: 6580
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: How can I create an image with a transparent background?

Post by XnTriq »

Elk wrote: Wed Oct 13, 2021 7:10 pmI have 32bit versions only. So I obviously had to install a portable XnView 32bit additionally, I assume.
On Windows 10 and XP, KillWhite (KillWhite.8bf), Eraser Classic (eraserclassic.8bf) and Eraser Genuine (erasergenuine.8bf) work with XnView Classic and the 32-bit version of XnView MP.
On Windows XP, Mac's Remove White (MACWHITE.8BF) works with XnView Classic and the 32-bit version of XnView MP, if you have msvcrt10.dll in C:\Windows\ or C:\Windows\System32\.
On Windows 10, Mac's Remove White (currently) doesn't work with any version of XnView.
Elk
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: How can I create an image with a transparent background?

Post by Elk »

OK, I have Win 10, thank you very much!