b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8211
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Post by helmut » Mon Dec 12, 2005 9:41 pm

In Browser mode, we have the new main menu "Create" (see also topic "New main menu "Create"").

What we have now is that menus of Browser mode and View mode differ, which I find a bit annoying. I suggest to introduce the main menu "Create" in View mode, too and move the appropriate menu items from "Tools" menu to "Create" menu.

I don't want to press this into 1.82 at any rate, but perhaps we can make a quick decision here and put it in.

XnView 1.82 <x>

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:56 pm

I agree.

Xyzzy
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Poland

Post by Xyzzy » Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:29 am

Agreed.

X.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33205
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Post by xnview » Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:11 pm

But if i add 'Create', i think that there now too much menu, no??
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8211
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Post by helmut » Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:55 pm

xnview wrote:But if i add 'Create', i think that there now too much menu, no??
I'm not a heavy "View mode" user, but a clear structure with many menus is still o.k. and easy too handle, I think.

raga
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 6:16 pm

Re: b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Post by raga » Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:11 pm

helmut wrote:I suggest to introduce the main menu "Create" in View mode, too.
Very good suggestion.

Perhaps even clearer and easier: Show exactly the same menu structure in both modes and just disable the entries that are not available in the respective mode.
xnview wrote:But if i add 'Create', i think that there now too much menu, no??
I don't think this is a problem.

If the window is rather large, there is enough space for menu entries. If the window is very small, some of the menu entries will be wrapped in a second line.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33205
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Post by xnview » Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:49 pm

helmut wrote:
xnview wrote:But if i add 'Create', i think that there now too much menu, no??
I'm not a heavy "View mode" user, but a clear structure with many menus is still o.k. and easy too handle, I think.
But what we must have, currently i can only put Slideshow & panorama :-(
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8211
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Post by helmut » Sun Dec 18, 2005 5:22 pm

xnview wrote:
helmut wrote:
xnview wrote:But if i add 'Create', i think that there now too much menu, no??
I'm not a heavy "View mode" user, but a clear structure with many menus is still o.k. and easy too handle, I think.
But what we must have, currently i can only put Slideshow & panorama :-(
In view mode the menu items
- Slide show
- Panorama (Stripe of images)
- Multi-page image
should move from "Tools" to "Create".

And there's still "Tools > Capture screen" which could be come "Create > Screen capture" (in both Browser mode and Image view mode).

It's not many menu items, but at least 3 or 4. And it will be consistent, then.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Post by Dreamer » Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:20 pm

helmut wrote:...
It's not many menu items, but at least 3 or 4. And it will be consistent, then.
Maybe all options from browser should be added also to viewer, since we can add images there and when user check this menu in viewer, he might miss some options that are only in browser.

Maybe also "Create Screensaver" (and "Create EXE") should be added there, since this feature is a bit hidden, it's there only as sub-option and only as "Create EXE/SCR" - SCR might be strange for normal users.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33205
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Post by xnview » Mon Dec 19, 2005 9:36 am

helmut wrote:- Multi-page image
should move from "Tools" to "Create"..
But in multipage, you have edit/Create/Extract... Is it a problem?
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8211
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Post by helmut » Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:14 pm

xnview wrote:
helmut wrote:- Multi-page image
should move from "Tools" to "Create"..
But in multipage, you have edit/Create/Extract... Is it a problem?
Oh, right, in view mode the menu item "Edit > Multi page image" contains several sub menu items. Not sure whether splitting the editing and the creation of multipage images makes sense.

Currently I tend to split the menu items, i.e., menu items for editing would remain in "Edit > Multipage image", only menu item "Edit > Multipage image > Create..." would go to "Create" main menu.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33205
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Post by xnview » Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:49 pm

helmut wrote:
xnview wrote:
helmut wrote:- Multi-page image
should move from "Tools" to "Create"..
But in multipage, you have edit/Create/Extract... Is it a problem?
Oh, right, in view mode the menu item "Edit > Multi page image" contains several sub menu items. Not sure whether splitting the editing and the creation of multipage images makes sense.

Currently I tend to split the menu items, i.e., menu items for editing would remain in "Edit > Multipage image", only menu item "Edit > Multipage image > Create..." would go to "Create" main menu.
I don't think that it's a good idea...
Pierre.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: b1: [Req] Menu "Create" in View mode

Post by Dreamer » Tue Dec 20, 2005 9:57 pm

xnview wrote:
helmut wrote:
xnview wrote: But in multipage, you have edit/Create/Extract... Is it a problem?
Oh, right, in view mode the menu item "Edit > Multi page image" contains several sub menu items. Not sure whether splitting the editing and the creation of multipage images makes sense.

Currently I tend to split the menu items, i.e., menu items for editing would remain in "Edit > Multipage image", only menu item "Edit > Multipage image > Create..." would go to "Create" main menu.
I don't think that it's a good idea...
I disagree, because some users will never find this feature, in Create menu it would be more "visible" (and also correct, but it's less important now).

Xyzzy
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Poland

Post by Xyzzy » Fri Jan 06, 2006 2:20 pm

OK, currently we have a pretty mess here.
What about some RULES in the first place?

Create menu OK, but what should it contain (as opposed to Tools)? I think actions related to creating NEW, IMAGE RELATED CREATION.
So, for example hypothetical "duplicate image" would be a tool, as it creates nothing new, just duplicate of existing image. But, on the other hand, hypothetical "create image" would be a Create function, as it creates something that has not existed before. OK, now down to business.

Move Create>File listing to Tools, as it has nothing to do with images. Just a handy tool.
Add in View menu with items the same as in Browser>Create.

BTW, something should be done with selecting files for Web Page, as it differs from the methods used by other items in Create.

X.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8211
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:09 pm

Xyzzy wrote:OK, currently we have a pretty mess here.
What about some RULES in the first place?
There are rules:
Whenever something new is created, the menu item goes to "Create". All other functions are listed in "Tools" menu.

Post Reply