B1: PNG Compression Levels

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView Classic which have been resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5936
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

B1: PNG Compression Levels

Post by XnTriq »

The levels now range from 0 to 10.
Shouldn't it be 0 (none) to 9 (maximum) as it used to be in prior versions?
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: B1: PNG Compression Levels

Post by marsh »

XnTriq wrote:The levels now range from 0 to 10.
Shouldn't it be 0 (none) to 9 (maximum) as it used to be in prior versions?
I think you're right. 0-9 is zip like scale I'm used to seeing. 9 and 10 produce equal size files for me, though 10 seems redundant.
User avatar
Drahken
Posts: 884
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by Drahken »

9 is the maximum, 10 is some sort of error. However, it has existed in the export function in beta, alpha, and even back in xnview deluxe. It seems to be a mostly cosmetic error, since it appears to actually be using level 9 regardless whether you set it at 9 or 10.
Oh the feuhrer, oh the feuhrer, oh the feuhrer's nipples bonk!
ckit
XnThusiast
Posts: 2451
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 1:11 am
Location: Cabarlah, Australia

Post by ckit »

The highest the arrows will go to is 9 so this is Fixed in Beta 2.
XnViewMP running on Windows 10 Pro x64 21H1
PhotoFiltre 11, PowerArchiver Toolkit, ShareX and Vivaldi Browser
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5936
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq »

Well, it's fixed in ...
  • Tools » Options » General » Read/Write » PNG » Parameters » Compression level
... but ...
  • File » Export » PNG » Compression level
... still goes up to 10.
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8245
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut »

XnTriq wrote:... still goes up to 10.
Yes, I confirm. -> Confirmed.
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5936
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq »

Both instances are fixed in Beta 3 :)