RC5: multiple separators at the end of the toolbar

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView Classic which have been resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

scratch
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 11:23 pm
Location: USA

RC5: multiple separators at the end of the toolbar

Post by scratch »

depending on how many buttons you hide, you can end up with two or three separators at the end of a given toolbar. i would suggest that you check if there are any buttons visible after the separator, and if not, hide the separator too. this occurs both in browser and view.

XnView 1.80 <x>
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

A pinch OT---

Post by Clo »

:) Hello !
- This occurs because the separators are not configurable at all, while they are in the most programs where you may configure such buttons on (a) tool-bar(s).

- This is a pinch OT, but I guess that the separators should be in the button-list as an item; so, the user could place them like he/she needs…

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
scratch
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 11:23 pm
Location: USA

Post by scratch »

they can't be auto-configured by XnView based on what buttons are visible?
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

A fixed bunch

Post by Clo »

:) They might be, but it seems that currently a fixed amount of separators is hard-coded, then the ones in excess (when there are some) are displayed like you describe; I guess it should be much simpler that Pierre doesn't treat the separators, and simply add the possibility to configure them by the user.
- Indeed, a minimal default ones must be displayed for the default tool-bar at the first start-up, but they might be removed as soon as you open the Option >> Buttons…
8) Just my opinion, though…

:mrgreen: K R
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36805
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: RC5: multiple separators at the end of the toolbar

Post by xnview »

scratch wrote:depending on how many buttons you hide, you can end up with two or three separators at the end of a given toolbar. i would suggest that you check if there are any buttons visible after the separator, and if not, hide the separator too. this occurs both in browser and view.
Strange, i remove separator. Could you tell me which button do you have enabled?
Pierre.
scratch
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 11:23 pm
Location: USA

Post by scratch »

view mode:
browser, open, save, crop, jpg transform, zoom, back, forward, slideshow. i get two separators after slideshow.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36805
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Post by xnview »

scratch wrote:view mode:
browser, open, save, crop, jpg transform, zoom, back, forward, slideshow. i get two separators after slideshow.
Ok, right
Pierre.
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

An item, plz

Post by Clo »

:arrow: Pierre

:) Hello Pierre,
- What about my proposal above ? I mean : set "Separator" as an item in the list of buttons; I guess that the current layout - not configurable- wastes room on the screen in many cases, and I would wish to get only the really indispensable separators… For 1.81 ?

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36805
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: An item, plz

Post by xnview »

Clo wrote:- What about my proposal above ? I mean : set "Separator" as an item in the list of buttons; I guess that the current layout - not configurable- wastes room on the screen in many cases, and I would wish to get only the really indispensable separators… For 1.81 ?
Yes, not in 1.80
Pierre.
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Post by Clo »

:) Thank you, Pierre, this'll be better…

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
scratch
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 11:23 pm
Location: USA

Post by scratch »

well, now i get a max of one. i'm not sure even one is necessary though. how about only separators if there are toolbar buttons after it?
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4608
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm

Post by Dreamer »

Moved back to "New/Open".
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Post by marsh »

Should not be an issue with v.1.9alpha. Toolbar is redesigned and more customizable with individual icons.