XMP does not work in 0.33

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView MP

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

GeBu
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:10 pm

XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by GeBu »

It looks that XMP does not work in version 0.33.
When I set "XMP" nothink is written.
When I set "XMP update or create IPTC" only IPTC is written.
I mean 'IPTC/XMP edit' dialog.

It looks that IPTC is written ok, because I can see it in Picasa: http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=21458
mahikeulbody
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by mahikeulbody »

Same problem for me.

(Windows version)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33911
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by xnview »

I've tried, and i can't reproduce :-(
Could you post a file that you use?
Pierre.
mahikeulbody
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by mahikeulbody »

xnview wrote:I've tried, and i can't reproduce :-(
Could you post a file that you use?
The problem occurs with any picture !
Take for example this one found through google images : http://www.rdtrisques.org/projets/rizer ... e-rizerili
edit iptc/xmp
set option to xmp only
type some fields : caption, keyword, city, country, etc...
save

No xmp panel appears into xnview GUI and no xmp data is written in the file (checked with Exiftool).
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by marsh »

mahikeulbody wrote: No xmp panel appears into xnview GUI and no xmp data is written in the file (checked with Exiftool).
I can avoid problem by starting program in browser mode, not directly from image in file manager.
mahikeulbody
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by mahikeulbody »

marsh wrote:
mahikeulbody wrote: No xmp panel appears into xnview GUI and no xmp data is written in the file (checked with Exiftool).
I can avoid problem by starting program in browser mode, not directly from image in file manager.
I have the same problem starting program in browser...
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33911
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by xnview »

Could you send me your .ini, i can't reproduce
You use 'Edit IPTC/XMP' from explorer of XnView?
Pierre.
mahikeulbody
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by mahikeulbody »

xnview wrote:Could you send me your .ini, i can't reproduce
You use 'Edit IPTC/XMP' from explorer of XnView?
Yes, I use 'Edit/XMP' from explorer of XnView.
Attachments
xnview.ini.zip
(3.8 KiB) Downloaded 90 times
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33911
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by xnview »

I can't reproduce... Could you send me your email by PM...
Pierre.
mahikeulbody
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by mahikeulbody »

I deleted all folders related to XnViewMP (including Application Data/XnViewMP).
Now XMP works.

It is a little bit strange since XMP was working with 0.32 and the same Application Data/XnViewMP folder.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33911
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by xnview »

mahikeulbody wrote:I deleted all folders related to XnViewMP (including Application Data/XnViewMP).
Now XMP works.

It is a little bit strange since XMP was working with 0.32 and the same Application Data/XnViewMP folder.
And if you replace with old .ini?
Pierre.
mahikeulbody
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by mahikeulbody »

With the old .ini it doesn't work.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33911
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by xnview »

Ok, i can reproduce now...
Pierre.
GeBu
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:10 pm

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by GeBu »

It does not help me :(.
mahikeulbody wrote:I deleted all folders related to XnViewMP (including Application Data/XnViewMP).
Now XMP works.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33911
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XMP does not work in 0.33

Post by xnview »

Please check XnViewMP 0.34
Pierre.
Post Reply