v.0.38 Drag and drop to batch convert tab

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView MP

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

v.0.38 Drag and drop to batch convert tab

Post by marsh »

Batch convert sometimes appears in a tab. As long is this happens, files from browser should be dragged and dropped on its tab in my opinion.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43988
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: v.0.38 Drag and drop to batch convert tab

Post by xnview »

you have Convert in a tab if you press CTRL key
Pierre.
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: v.0.38 Drag and drop to batch convert tab

Post by marsh »

Aha. That explains it. However, then keyboard people and mouse people will see something different. Because of this, would the opposite CTRL+mousebutton for non-tab be better?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43988
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: v.0.38 Drag and drop to batch convert tab

Post by xnview »

marsh wrote:Aha. That explains it. However, then keyboard people and mouse people will see something different. Because of this, would the opposite CTRL+mousebutton for non-tab be better?
Currently it's experimental, so for advanced user to see if 'batch convert' as a tab is good...
Pierre.
User avatar
budz45
XnThusiast
Posts: 1621
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: UK

Re: v.0.38 Drag and drop to batch convert tab

Post by budz45 »

I still havn't a clue how to access this 'tab' method. Is this batch convert 'tab' the same way as the 'Compare' tab in XnView MP?

Is I press Ctrl+U then the standard modal window (own tabbed interface) displays. BTW 'Ctrl' and 'Shift' keys are modifier keys so I don't understand how the 'Ctrl' key can be used by itself to access this experimental feature.

http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?p=94050

In the Browser I select a picture, press the CTRL key and nothing happens, please advise what I'm doing wrong.

I'm running MP 0.39
All My Topics || my 'MP' Topics
My own Bookmarked topics--->for me only
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43988
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: v.0.38 Drag and drop to batch convert tab

Post by xnview »

Press shift when you click on 'batch convert'
Pierre.
User avatar
budz45
XnThusiast
Posts: 1621
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: UK

Re: v.0.38 Drag and drop to batch convert tab

Post by budz45 »

xnview wrote:Press shift when you click on 'batch convert'
Ah haaa got it :D

Here is a screenshot for everyone:
2011-09-12_202455.jpg
All I can say is that I really like this method (as a tab) and I fully understand JohnFredC's concepts of this display and trying to keep a non-modal approach. I like this batch-convert as tab a lot :-)

Why Pierre, in the first place, did you mention "CTRL" instead of simply saying "Shift"? Anyway doesn't matter.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
All My Topics || my 'MP' Topics
My own Bookmarked topics--->for me only
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43988
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: v.0.38 Drag and drop to batch convert tab

Post by xnview »

budz45 wrote:Why Pierre, in the first place, did you mention "CTRL" instead of simply saying "Shift"? Anyway doesn't matter.
I've change it
Pierre.