batch rename and batch conversion

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView MP

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

User avatar
lian
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:53 pm

batch rename and batch conversion

Post by lian »

Hello,
when making a batch rename, MP proposes to add by default an number to the alphabetical name if there is no indication of adding any number. But in Batch Conversion, the rename function does not act in similar way: if you don't ask to numerate the files and choose to delete "old files", well, you got only one file with the alphabetical name you put in. So all the others are deleted :mrgreen:
SF, illustrations et mes BD sur mon blog: https://www.li-an.fr/
Windows 10 Home 64 bits
Vapavite123
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:03 am

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by Vapavite123 »

Hello,

:?:
Conversion1.jpg
Conversion2.jpg
Conversion3.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
lian
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:53 pm

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by lian »

Wich version are you using ? With 3.8.7 I've got only one file left.
SF, illustrations et mes BD sur mon blog: https://www.li-an.fr/
Windows 10 Home 64 bits
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43723
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by xnview »

Could you post a screenshot, please?
Pierre.
User avatar
lian
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:53 pm

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by lian »

mp01.jpg.jpg
mp02.jpg.jpg
mp03.jpg.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
SF, illustrations et mes BD sur mon blog: https://www.li-an.fr/
Windows 10 Home 64 bits
User avatar
lian
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:53 pm

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by lian »

mp04.jpg.jpg
mp05.jpg.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
SF, illustrations et mes BD sur mon blog: https://www.li-an.fr/
Windows 10 Home 64 bits
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43723
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by xnview »

Ok, et donc que devrait etre le comportement correct??
Pierre.
User avatar
lian
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:53 pm

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by lian »

Éh bien, comme pour un batch rename: à savoir MP rajoute un numéro automatiquement derrière chaque occurence du nom pour conserver le même nom de fichier.
SF, illustrations et mes BD sur mon blog: https://www.li-an.fr/
Windows 10 Home 64 bits
Vapavite123
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:03 am

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by Vapavite123 »

Hello,

It's your method that leads to this result!
If each image to ask you to overwrite (YES) and you have checked "Delete original", this will be your final image will have the name of departure, others have simply been crushed, one after the other! You also have proof in your test, it's your last image is named as you want
If you apply to each image "RENAME", all images will be renamed incrementally (1.2, .. 10) with the name of your choice! This is what you want is not it!

PS: The difference between your test and mine is in> When the file already exists: I have personally used "Rename" and you "Ask"
If you check "Delete the original, with" Rename ", the equivalent files in the name will not be deleted, they automatically include the list incrementally!
If you do not check "Delete the original, leaving" Rename the file name to be simply equivalent 2X doubled and included in the list incrementally with different numbers!

Fr:
C'est votre méthode qui conduit à ce résultat !
Si à chaque image vous demander d'écraser (OUI) et que vous avez coché "Supprimer l'original", ce sera votre dernière image qui aura le nom de départ, les autres auront tout simplement été écrasées les unes après les autres ! Vous en avez d'ailleurs la preuve dans votre test, c'est bien votre dernière image qui est nommée comme vous le souhaitiez
Si à chaque image vous demander "RENOMMER", toutes les images seront renommées de manière incrémentielle (1,2,..10) avec le nom de votre choix ! C'est ce que vous voulez n'est-ce pas !

PS : La différence entre votre test et le mien se situe dans > Lorsque le fichier existe déjà : J'ai pour ma part mis "Renommer" et vous "Demander"
Si vous cochez "Effacer l'original, en mettant "Renommer", les fichiers au nom équivalant ne seront pas effacer, ils intègrent automatiquement la liste incrémentielle !
Si vous ne cochez pas "Effacer l'original, en laissant "Renommer, les fichiers au nom équivalant seront simplement doublés et figureront 2X dans la liste incrémentielle avec des numéros différents !

Bien à vous.
User avatar
lian
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:53 pm

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by lian »

I understand what you say but I think the behaviour is not logical: as a batch rename does not consider renaming with only one name but need to add a number, I think the same logic should be used when renaming a serie of files in batch conversion mode. The behaviour follows the logic of MP but not the human logic (well, it's my opinion, I don't pretend to represent all people).
SF, illustrations et mes BD sur mon blog: https://www.li-an.fr/
Windows 10 Home 64 bits
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43723
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by xnview »

lian wrote:Éh bien, comme pour un batch rename: à savoir MP rajoute un numéro automatiquement derrière chaque occurence du nom pour conserver le même nom de fichier.
Ce n'est pas si simple, il faudrait lire toutes les images et suivant les options multipage, faire la modif...
En fait, c'est lié à la modif que vous m'avez demandé :) Si 'effacer l'original' est coché, ne pas demander...
Pierre.
User avatar
lian
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:53 pm

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by lian »

OK :-) Bon, c'est à retenir mais dommage qu'on ne puisse pas avoir les deux. À la limite, je me demande s'il ne vaut pas mieux revenir en arrière pour éviter de mauvaises surprises... Mais bon.
Quoique...non, j'ai le problème avec la 38.7 c'est à dire avant correction, non ?
SF, illustrations et mes BD sur mon blog: https://www.li-an.fr/
Windows 10 Home 64 bits
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43723
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by xnview »

Ou alors forcer le nom à etre 'test#'?? Pas tres logique...
Pierre.
User avatar
lian
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:53 pm

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by lian »

Bon, pour l'instant, je fais juste attention quand je renomme :-) Faut savoir... Je n'ai pas trop d'idée pratique pour gérer ça mieux.
SF, illustrations et mes BD sur mon blog: https://www.li-an.fr/
Windows 10 Home 64 bits
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43723
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: batch rename and batch conversion

Post by xnview »

lian wrote:Bon, pour l'instant, je fais juste attention quand je renomme :-) Faut savoir... Je n'ai pas trop d'idée pratique pour gérer ça mieux.
Ou alors un message si aucun {...} ou # n'est utilisé dans le nom destination?
Pierre.