MP 0.94b1: overwrite previously deleted file

*** Please report new bugs here! ***

Moderator: Dreamer

Post Reply
User avatar
dergilbwillspam
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:46 pm

MP 0.94b1: overwrite previously deleted file

Post by dergilbwillspam » Sat Aug 24, 2019 4:08 pm

XnView: MP ?–0.94b1 64 bit
OS: Windows 10 Pro #1903 64bit

When I print a picture with the "Microsoft Print to PDF" printer, I get the "Save Print Output As..." dialog. If I wanted to name the file "test.pdf" and the folder already contains a "test.pdf", and I delete that file in this dialog, I still will be asked if I wanted to overwrite that file.

Effect: Unnecessary dialog.

(At some point in the past, XnView MP would save the file as "test (1).pdf", IIRC. Now it overwrites the file and keeps the name, as it should be.)

To reproduce:

1. Have a file named "test.pdf" in folder x
2. Attempt to "Print" an image with the "Microsoft Print to PDF" in that folder. (Attempt means: don't save yet, just go to folder x)
3. Delete the file from 1.
4. Now continue to save the file as "test.pdf"
5. You will be asked if you want to overwrite "test.pdf"

Actual behaviour (bug): :bug:

XnView asks if I want to overwrite a file that doesn't exist any longer.

Expected behaviour:

XnView doesn't ask if I want to overwrite a file that doesn't exist any longer.

Post Reply