Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
borzov
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:04 pm

Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Post by borzov » Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:16 pm

Whenever I look through some heavy pictures the program gradually takes up more and more RAM. At some point pictures become pixelated until it says it can't open any more files. I have to exit and restart the program which is annoying. In ACDSee there was an option "keep previous image in memory/load next image in advance". And XnView seems to keep ALL the pictures in memory for some reason. Maybe there's some option in the settings that I've missed?

quapurna
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:55 pm
Location: earth (the not-flat one)

Re: Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Post by quapurna » Sat Jan 03, 2015 10:32 pm

Halo.

Have you tried the following option-items:

Settings > View > Misc. > Cache > "Read one image ahead" and "Keep current image" ???

Thanks.

borzov
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:04 pm

Re: Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Post by borzov » Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:22 am

nope, didn't help

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Post by xnview » Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:28 pm

Do you open each image as a tab??
Pierre.

borzov
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:04 pm

Re: Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Post by borzov » Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:46 pm

no, I scroll them

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Post by xnview » Thu Jan 08, 2015 9:06 am

borzov wrote:no, I scroll them
which format?
Pierre.

borzov
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:04 pm

Re: Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Post by borzov » Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:09 am

It takes me about 300 MB worth of jpg files (around 1 MB each) in 30 subfolders to reach 1.5 GB of RAM taken up by XnView at which point the "File can't be loaded" error pops up when I try to go from browsing to opening an image (and if I just scroll then the images turn up pixelated - I guess that means they cannot be decompressed).
I gotta say though this is much better then before I unchecked the "keep current image" as quapurna suggested. I guess it's just thumbnails now hanging in memory.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Post by xnview » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:13 pm

yes if you close the browser, same thing?
Pierre.

borzov
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:04 pm

Re: Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Post by borzov » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:30 pm

not sure what you mean by browser - if i close XnView browser then i effectively close the whole program, don't I?
BTW I think I jinxed it :) Sometimes this happens after only 20 MB worth of images. It's very inconsistent

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Post by xnview » Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:59 pm

borzov wrote:not sure what you mean by browser - if i close XnView browser then i effectively close the whole program, don't I?
BTW I think I jinxed it :) Sometimes this happens after only 20 MB worth of images. It's very inconsistent
no you can open a view tab, and close the browser
Pierre.

quapurna
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:55 pm
Location: earth (the not-flat one)

Re: Why does XnViewMP take up so much RAM?

Post by quapurna » Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:19 pm

borzov, you can have images displayed in different tabs by doing this:

In Browse mode > Menu > View > Tab > Show (checked)

Thanks.

borzov wrote:not sure what you mean by browser - if i close XnView browser then i effectively close the whole program, don't I?
.....

Post Reply