Please elaborate on "this picture will be converted to rgb ..."

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
gfnov
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:58 pm

Please elaborate on "this picture will be converted to rgb ..."

Post by gfnov » Mon Mar 18, 2019 7:21 pm

I just installed XnView and when scrolling through RAW files, I keep getting the "this picture will be converted to rgb with 8 bits per component" message. The message includes a checkbox saying "Remember my answer . . .", but then doesn't provide me with a choice. I searched these forums for an explanation of why I keep repeatedly seeing this message. The only explanation I found was this: "If you [sic] image use more than 8 bits per component (48 or 64 bits for example), XnView needs to convert into 8bits/component, the only internal pixel support." This is clearly a warning, but of what? Is XnView actually changing my RAW file and asking my permission to do so? Or is it just doing something internally in the viewer (which seems unlikely, as there would be no reason to tell me about it if that were the case)?

cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Please elaborate on "this picture will be converted to rgb ..."

Post by cday » Mon Mar 18, 2019 8:22 pm

When a file is opened in XnView software the bitmap created that is used for any further processing or saving, is 24-bit depth; the original file opened is unaltered, so there is no reason for concern there. You could test using a copy of a higher bit depth file to confirm that.

The warning message you mention can optionally be suppressed if desired when future files with greater than 24-bits per component are opened...

gfnov
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:58 pm

Re: Please elaborate on "this picture will be converted to rgb ..."

Post by gfnov » Mon Mar 18, 2019 8:55 pm

What is the purpose in warning users of this? Who cares? Users can do nothing with this information, and It is alarming. Consider the time I've wasted (including a bit of yours) because of this message. This occurred within 2 minutes of my first trial run of XnView, and frankly, it has turned me off to testing any further. Who knows what other cryptic messages await.

cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Please elaborate on "this picture will be converted to rgb ..."

Post by cday » Mon Mar 18, 2019 9:31 pm

gfnov wrote:
Mon Mar 18, 2019 8:55 pm
What is the purpose in warning users of this? Who cares? Users can do nothing with this information, and It is alarming. Consider the time I've wasted (including a bit of yours) because of this message. This occurred within 2 minutes of my first trial run of XnView, and frankly, it has turned me off to testing any further. Who knows what other cryptic messages await.
Your original question concerning the meaning of the warning does arise periodically, but surely users do need (or least may wish) to know that any opened image will lose the original bit depth?

And the option to suppress the message on future occasions, which is provided for other similar warnings, is surely useful to streamline processing once that fact is understood?

Edit:

Possibly the wording of the warning message could be enhanced by indicating that the original file will not be altered?

gfnov
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:58 pm

Re: Please elaborate on "this picture will be converted to rgb ..."

Post by gfnov » Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:29 pm

Hopefully, other users will weigh in, but my opinion remains that users do not need to know this and should never see the message. This is something that should remain under the covers. Probably, if I were editing the photo with XnView, the warning would be important (I use Photoshop Elements to edit). For viewing, no.

cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Please elaborate on "this picture will be converted to rgb ..."

Post by cday » Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:26 pm

gfnov wrote:
Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:29 pm
Hopefully, other users will weigh in, but my opinion remains that users do not need to know this and should never see the message. This is something that should remain under the covers. Probably, if I were editing the photo with XnView, the warning would be important (I use Photoshop Elements to edit). For viewing, no.

XnView MP is a Viewer, Editor and file Browser, so I don't think the warning message can be omitted entirely...

Possibly there could be an option to somehow use XnView only as a Viewer, in which case the message could be suppressed, but that option would in any case probably not be discovered easily.

I'm going to suggest that the wording of the message be modified slightly, to make clear immediately that the file opened will not be changed.

Post Reply