Copy settings to new computer

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
User avatar
toyotadesigner
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 7:15 am

Copy settings to new computer

Post by toyotadesigner » Tue Oct 22, 2019 10:55 am

I am setting up a new iMac and would like to use the settings from the old iMac.

Where are the xnview settings stored? (inf or ini files, layout files)

Any help will be appreciated!

hobbyists discuss new camera features
photographers discuss new software
masters discuss light

cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2315
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Copy settings to new computer

Post by cday » Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:36 am

toyotadesigner wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 10:55 am
I am setting up a new iMac and would like to use the settings from the old iMac.

Where are the xnview settings stored? (inf or ini files, layout files)
Tools > Settings... > Integration -- Paths tab in the Windows and Linux versions, at least...

User avatar
toyotadesigner
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 7:15 am

Re: Copy settings to new computer

Post by toyotadesigner » Tue Oct 22, 2019 12:41 pm

I didn't modify the standard settings, but the settings should be stored in the »Library« — somewhere. But I don't know where and maybe someone can give me a hint.

hobbyists discuss new camera features
photographers discuss new software
masters discuss light

sasko1
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:17 am

Re: Copy settings to new computer

Post by sasko1 » Wed Oct 23, 2019 12:21 pm

I have the same "problem". Moving to new computer and would like to keep the same settings as on old one.
Any help appreciated

cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2315
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Copy settings to new computer

Post by cday » Wed Oct 23, 2019 1:21 pm

toyotadesigner wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 12:41 pm
I didn't modify the standard settings, but the settings should be stored in the »Library« — somewhere. But I don't know where and maybe someone can give me a hint.
I've had a look at my Linux installation and clicking on the Tools > Settings... > Integration -- Paths 'Open Catalog location tab' opens the directory containing at least some of the settings files, have you tried that?

User avatar
toyotadesigner
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 7:15 am

Re: Copy settings to new computer

Post by toyotadesigner » Wed Oct 23, 2019 1:26 pm

cday, thanks for your information. I can see the location of the files by clicking the path location button — but only on the current (new) machine. And I see that it is a hidden folder: .config/...

Though I already had a new image database generated on the new machine, I will try to copy the layout settings. Trying to import the catalog files doesn't make sense anymore :mrgreen:

hobbyists discuss new camera features
photographers discuss new software
masters discuss light

Post Reply