R-Click displays unexpected context menu [Solved - Mouse problem]

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

R-Click displays unexpected context menu [Solved - Mouse problem]

Post by cday »

Back in Windows 7 temporarily with an unexpected problem:

XnView MP 0.98.4 Tools > Settings > Interface -- Mouse --Right button set to Move picture

But a context menu is displayed:


Image 1.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by cday »

This is clearly the Shell Extension running, which I have never knowingly launched...

I did download all three versions of XnView Classic some time back, and may have launched the full version, would that have launched the Shell Extension automatically? My Windows 7 is 64-bit.

I need to use Windows 7 temporarily to run software that can't be run on Windows 10, but haven't been able to find any running program or process that I can uninstall or kill. I need a simple way to deactivate the unwanted utility and restore my normal mouse operation, please.
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5902
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by XnTriq »

It's MP's regular context menu for view mode.
Please take a look at screenshots of the shell extension for comparison.
  • If the dimensions of the viewed image are smaller than or equal to XnView's window size, a right mouse button click on the image invokes the context menu.
  • If the dimensions of the viewed image are greater than XnView's window size, clicking on the image with the right mouse button and holding down the button will allow you to move the image (mouse cursor changes from pointer to hand).
What is your configuration for ToolsSettings…ViewViewAuto image size?
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by cday »

XnTriq wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 1:00 am It's MP's regular context menu for view mode.
Thank you for that useful insight, I've never used or even thought of using the Shell Extension...

What is your configuration for ToolsSettings…ViewViewAuto image size?
It was set to Last used but selecting alternative options didn't seem to make a difference.

I tried deleting my ini file, I'm attaching the new one in the hope that it might enable someone to identify the problem... :?:

xnview.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36318
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by xnview »

cday wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 10:58 am Back in Windows 7 temporarily with an unexpected problem:

XnView MP 0.98.4 Tools > Settings > Interface -- Mouse --Right button set to Move picture
Sorry but i don't understand the problem?
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by cday »

xnview wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 11:08 am
cday wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 10:58 am Back in Windows 7 temporarily with an unexpected problem:

XnView MP 0.98.4 Tools > Settings > Interface -- Mouse --Right button set to Move picture
Sorry but i don't understand the problem?

The right mouse button is set to move the image, but when I press it I can't drag the image, instead the context menu in my first post opens immediately...

I don't see any way to disable it... :( :(
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36318
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by xnview »

same on windows 10?
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by cday »

xnview wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 11:25 am same on windows 10?
On checking, quite unexpectedly it is... :wink:

And surprisingly the same in Linux Mint Cinnamon 20.1 or 20.2 deb

I've never seen this behaviour before, a bug in 0.98.4 maybe??
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by cday »

Different problem in 0.98.3:

Right button set to Move picture -- Nothing happens...
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36318
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by xnview »

cday wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 11:59 am Different problem in 0.98.3:

Right button set to Move picture -- Nothing happens...
i have no problem to move picture with right button, and with a clean ini?
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by cday »

xnview wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 12:11 pm
cday wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 11:59 am Different problem in 0.98.3:

Right button set to Move picture -- Nothing happens...
I have no problem to move picture with right button, and with a clean ini?
I tried that earlier, and I've just tried it again although the uninstall of 0.98.3 wasn't completed correctly.

Really strange that I have the problem independently on separate Windows 7, Windows 10 and Linux computers, I have never had an issue before.

Testing 0.98.0 on Windows 10, the same computer used above, I have the context menu again...
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by cday »

The issue was first seen on my Windows 7 computer with zoomed images, some at least of my quick tests today were not valid as the test image wasn't zoomed, sorry.

Nonetheless, I stlll saw a context menu in one test with an earier 'MP 0.98 version??

I'll do some more tests later, I really need it on my Windows 7 computer with its large screen.

Update: Windows 10 and Linux Mint with 0.98.4 now operating correctly when image zoomed.

Possibly an issue specific to my Windows 7 installation??
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36318
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by xnview »

:shock: i've tried on a clean win 10 with a clean ini (the setting is by default), and no problem, same on linux
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by cday »

xnview wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 12:38 pm :shock: i've tried on a clean win 10 with a clean ini (the setting is by default), and no problem, same on linux
Thank you for testing, the problem seems to be specific to my Windows 7 computer, but I have never seen anything like it before... :?:

Interesting that the context menu displayed is seemingly not the XnView Shell menu, thanks XnTriq... :D

And seems unlikely to be a functionality downgrade in the British download ordered by M Macron or the E.U. :wink:
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5902
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: R-Click displays unexpected context menu

Post by XnTriq »

Please follow these steps:
  1. Go to ToolsSettings…InterfaceMouse and make sure that Right button is set to Move picture.
  2. Activate Show scrollbars in ToolsSettings…ViewView.
  3. Open an image and zoom in until the scrollbars show up.
  4. Click on the image with the right mouse button and hold down the button.
Does the mouse cursor change from pointer to hand?