Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Older bugs which are supposed to be fixed in 0.84. *** Please try to reproduce your bug and confirm the bug fix. ***

Moderators: helmut, XnTriq, xnview, Dreamer

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37958
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by xnview »

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.98.2. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3296
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by cday »

xnview wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:51 am This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.98.2. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
No change 0.92 AppImage clicking on the toolbar 'i' icon... :( :(

Edit:

I inadvertently tested with a PNG version of a test JPEG file I normally use, 'estimated quality' is now displayed for the JPEG version... :D
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37958
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by xnview »

and on windows?
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3296
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by cday »

xnview wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 1:25 pmand on windows?
No... :(
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3296
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by cday »

cday wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 1:40 pm
xnview wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 1:25 pmand on windows?
No... :(

I was going to try uninstalling 0.98.2, then reinstalling it in case the existing .ini was relevant to the missing quality parameter: with some difficulty I found where to uninstall it in Windows 10 1909, but when I launched the installer again I was advised that XnView MP was still installed... ??

I then opened 0.98.2 successfully and tested again, and this time JPEG quality was displayed ??

I had wondered before whether the .ini file might be a factor in the confusion in our earlier tests, but really don't know what happened with Windows 10 this time.

It is possible that I originally inadvertently tested using a PNG rather than a JPEG, 'estimated quality is displayed now, apologies... :D

Could someone please make an independent test to confirm correct display now.
areimunde
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by areimunde »

I just installed 0.98.2 x64 on windows and the problem still exists as you can see here, the Estimated Quality is reported in the Properties dialog but not through the codes to display info on image viewing screen (Show Information Icon). As you may see I did configure a pretty complete Information area while viewing in the Settings|View Info tab to save time.

ptId2Kq.jpg

Do maximize the image to see capture in good definition.

Regards,

Al
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3296
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by cday »

xnview wrote: Sat Feb 06, 2021 1:03 pm
XnTriq wrote: Fri Feb 05, 2021 2:00 pm
  1. Disable the catalog.
  2. Go to a folder you haven't browsed before.
  3. Open a JPEG in fullscreen mode (F11).
  4. Move the cursor to the right edge of the screen.
    Estimated quality is present in the Properties pane.
  5. Go to the next JPEG (PgDown).
    Estimated quality is missing in the Properties pane.
Houra Thanks XnTriq :D i have it, bug.
I thought the reason for the viewer Properties (i) toolbar icon not displaying JPEG 'Estimated Compression level' had finally been identified and fixed, but evidently not, and the information is still not displayed in 1.00... :(