0.95 Windows 10: Lepton files with unicode names cannot be opened

Older bugs which are supposed to be fixed in 0.84. *** Please try to reproduce your bug and confirm the bug fix. ***

Moderators: helmut, XnTriq, xnview, Dreamer

winterNebs
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 5:58 am

Re: 0.95 Windows 10: Lepton files with unicode names cannot be opened

Post by winterNebs »

Very strange. So outputting to a unicode name and viewing the file works fine?

Are you also using windows 10? Maybe it is a problem with my locale (I am using English(Canada)), I will test that when I have time.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37892
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.95 Windows 10: Lepton files with unicode names cannot be opened

Post by xnview »

winterNebs wrote: Sun May 10, 2020 3:09 pm Very strange. So outputting to a unicode name and viewing the file works fine?

Are you also using windows 10? Maybe it is a problem with my locale (I am using English(Canada)), I will test that when I have time.
yes windows 10, it works with unicode filename
Pierre.
winterNebs
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 5:58 am

Re: 0.95 Windows 10: Lepton files with unicode names cannot be opened

Post by winterNebs »

Any ideas of what I can try changing/ different settings in windows maybe? It's very strange. (switching to us locale and enabling the "beta unicode" feature did not work either) :(
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37892
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.95 Windows 10: Lepton files with unicode names cannot be opened

Post by xnview »

winterNebs wrote: Thu May 14, 2020 5:27 pm Any ideas of what I can try changing/ different settings in windows maybe? It's very strange. (switching to us locale and enabling the "beta unicode" feature did not work either) :(
I send you a PM
Pierre.
winterNebs
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 5:58 am

Re: 0.95 Windows 10: Lepton files with unicode names cannot be opened

Post by winterNebs »

I swear I tried this before but changing Region settings and enabling beta UTF-8 support has fixed it!