Photoshop plugin, how?

Bugs that are confirmed but cannot be fixed for some reasons.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview, Dreamer

Post Reply
User avatar
BK201
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by BK201 »

Didn't figure out how this works.
Are all I need some .8bf files?
Or I must have Photoshop x86 version installed?

OS: Win 10 x64
PS: Adobe Photoshop CS6 (64 Bit) (x64 only)
XV: 0.83-XnViewMP-win-x64
1.png
1.png (38.78 KiB) Viewed 6495 times
2.png
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by XnTriq »

Photoshop doesn't have to be installed for 8BFs to work with XnView.
The 32-bit edition of MP requires 32-bit 8BFs, and the 64-bit version needs 64-bit plug-ins. (I don't know if AlphaPlugins LaunchBox is compatible with XnView MP).
User avatar
BK201
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by BK201 »

XnTriq wrote:Photoshop doesn't have to be installed for 8BFs to work with XnView.
The 32-bit edition of MP requires 32-bit 8BFs, and the 64-bit version needs 64-bit plug-ins. (I don't know if AlphaPlugins LaunchBox is compatible with XnView MP).
Without luck :(

1. I added plugin path to the adobe plugin manager
In the xnview.ini it says

Code: Select all

[Adobe]
Adobe\Path=K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/
2. I put a x64 plugin 8BF file into said path (as said in the OP, I'm using xnview x64 on x64 OS)

Code: Select all

K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/USM2-x64.8bf
3. Nothing happened.

Compatible problem probably?
Is there a compatible plugin list?
Can you provide me a working x64 8BF plugin so I can tell if it's the problem of my plugins?

And I attached the plugin I was using to test, it works on photoshop x64
Attachments
USM2-x64.7z
(46.72 KiB) Downloaded 148 times
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by XnTriq »

BK201 wrote:1. I added plugin path to the adobe plugin manager
In the xnview.ini it says

Code: Select all

[Adobe]
Adobe\Path=K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/
2. I put a x64 plugin 8BF file into said path (as said in the OP, I'm using xnview x64 on x64 OS)

Code: Select all

K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/USM2-x64.8bf
3. Nothing happened.
To prevent possible conflicts Photoshop-compatible filters shouldn't be placed in any of the “special” subdirectories of your XnView installation. (I keep all filters in %CommonFiles%\Plug-Ins\ so I can point host applications to that folder.)
BK201 wrote:Is there a compatible plugin list?
Free Adobe Photoshop Plug-Ins for XnView Classic (32-bit)
BK201 wrote:Can you provide me a working x64 8BF plugin so I can tell if it's the problem of my plugins?
Could you please extract/install the following 64-bit freeware plug-ins to K:/App/Something/Plug-Ins/ or whatever and do some tests?
User avatar
BK201
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by BK201 »

XnTriq wrote: Could you please extract/install the following 64-bit freeware plug-ins to K:/App/Something/Plug-Ins/ or whatever and do some tests?
Tried two of them: luce2 & namesuppressed
What I did:
1. Create the folder you mentioned
2. Download & extract them to the new Plug-Ins folder
3. Start XnView-MP (normal starting & running as administrator)

Nothing happened :/
2.png
I'm sure those plugins you provided works well in Photoshop
1.png
1.png (42.17 KiB) Viewed 6416 times
All I want is just a simply Pixelize>Mosaic filter ;_;
Is there any alternatives for XnView MP?
Sure I can using Photoshop to do this, but I hope I can apply a simply mosaic effect without launching such a complex program and waiting for it starting up for seconds.
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by XnTriq »

Thanks for testing, BK201 :-)

As you pointed out earlier, certain filters will only run with Photoshop due to compatibility issues, …
… but the Luce plug-in is fairly simple. Let's hope that Pierre will have time to look into this.
BK201 wrote:All I want is just a simply Pixelize>Mosaic filter ;_;
Is there any alternatives for XnView MP?
Sure I can using Photoshop to do this, but I hope I can apply a simply mosaic effect without launching such a complex program and waiting for it starting up for seconds.
Too bad MP is missing the Mosaic effect we have in Classic. Have you given Richard Rosenman's Pixelate a try?

BTW: PSFilterShim is able to host both 32-bit and 64-bit plug-ins under Paint.NET.
User avatar
BK201
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by BK201 »

XnTriq wrote:Thanks for testing, BK201 :-)

As you pointed out earlier, certain filters will only run with Photoshop due to compatibility issues, …
… but the Luce plug-in is fairly simple. Let's hope that Pierre will have time to look into this.
BK201 wrote:All I want is just a simply Pixelize>Mosaic filter ;_;
Is there any alternatives for XnView MP?
Sure I can using Photoshop to do this, but I hope I can apply a simply mosaic effect without launching such a complex program and waiting for it starting up for seconds.
Too bad MP is missing the Mosaic effect we have in Classic. Have you given Richard Rosenman's Pixelate a try?

BTW: PSFilterShim is able to host both 32-bit and 64-bit plug-ins under Paint.NET.
Thanks for your recommendations, tried Rosenman's Pixelate, still not working on MP ( ´・ω・`)
Seems that I have to use Photoshop for Mosaic filter for another two years (or longer)
I'm not sure if this is just a compatibility problem since NONE of those 8BF plugins working on MP. It looks more like something wrong with the plugin handler.
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by XnTriq »

BK201 wrote:I'm not sure if this is just a compatibility problem since NONE of those 8BF plugins working on MP. It looks more like something wrong with the plugin handler.
I agree. That's why I'm hoping that Pierre will eventually comment on this.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33850
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by xnview »

There is a problem with 64bits 8bf support
See Issue 1026 for details.

Luce, and some nik collection plugin can be used, i have always a crash with USM2 when applying
Pierre.
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by helmut »

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.
User avatar
BK201
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by BK201 »

helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.
Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnViewMP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by helmut »

BK201 wrote:
helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.
Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnView MP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop
Thank you for your feedback, BK201. I've moved this topic to "New/Open"; I guess further investigation will be done after the release of version 0.84.
User avatar
BK201
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by BK201 »

helmut wrote:
BK201 wrote:
helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.
Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnView MP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop
Thank you for your feedback, BK201. I've moved this topic to "New/Open"; I guess further investigation will be done after the release of version 0.84.
Cool, but this is no longer a major bug for me since the Pixelate feature is back in 0.84 beta 3 :D
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by helmut »

BK201 wrote:
helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.
Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnViewMP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop
@Pierre: There are still some plug-ins that do not work. Do you plan to look into this now or later (if later, this bug report will be moved to "Postponed")?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33850
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Post by xnview »

helmut wrote:@Pierre: There are still some plug-ins that do not work. Do you plan to look into this now or later (if later, this bug report will be moved to "Postponed")?
later
Pierre.
Post Reply