Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Older bugs which are supposed to be fixed in 0.84. *** Please try to reproduce your bug and confirm the bug fix. ***

Moderator: Dreamer

Post Reply
josedumoretzsohn
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 11:13 am

Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Post by josedumoretzsohn »

After selecting a few images, and commanding "Create Shortcut", the usual dialogue appears with the Folders to be reached. However, after clicking on the destination folder, a "strange" second dialogue appears asking whether I want to overwrite the images, one or all. This second dialogue is unnecessary, because the images moved are entirely new to the destination folder.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33836
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Post by xnview »

could you describe the way to reproduce?
Pierre.
User avatar
m.Th.
XnThusiast
Posts: 1583
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:31 am
Contact:

Re: Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Post by m.Th. »

1. Can you give screenshots + steps?
2. If you change the destination folder (for ex. make a new one), the problem persists?
3. What versions XnV MP/OS do you have?
m. Th.

The Ascetic Experience - The best photos and texts from Holy Mountain (Athos)

- Dark Themed XnViewMP 0.90 64bit & XnView 2.00 x64 on Win7 x64 -
josedumoretzsohn
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 11:13 am

Re: Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Post by josedumoretzsohn »

xnview wrote:could you describe the way to reproduce?
I did not understand your question? The bug is precisely the "opening of this second dialogue" (Replace/With: that usually only opens when there is/are image/images to be replaced), because the destination folder is empty, there is nothing to be replaced there.
josedumoretzsohn
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 11:13 am

Re: Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Post by josedumoretzsohn »

m.Th. wrote:1. Can you give screenshots + steps?
2. If you change the destination folder (for ex. make a new one), the problem persists?
3. What versions XnV MP/OS do you have?
Describing:
My version is XNView MP 0.89.
Steps:
1) In my Folder \zzCAPTURE\ there are 4 images, and I will create shortcuts to \zzEDIT\, which is empty
2) I select the 4 images, right-click on Create Shortcut. The shortcuts are printed on the \CAPTURE\ folder.
3) I select the shortcuts and command "Move To", either on its icon or typing ALT+M. The regular MOVE TO dialogue opens.
4) When II select the destination folder \EDIT, which is empty, the REPLACE/WITH dialogue opens.
5) The opening of the REPLACE/WITH dialogue is the bug itself, because the destionation folder is empty.

I can send screenshots; in fact, I created them, but don't know how to send them. I tried to, clicking on the IMG button above the Text Box, but it did not open my Folder Manager.
josedumoretzsohn
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 11:13 am

Re: Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Post by josedumoretzsohn »

Just to add: if I OK the second (buggy) dialogue, the operation of MOVE TO (or COPY TO) succeeds; If I CANCEL this dialogue, the images stay where they are.
josedumoretzsohn wrote:
m.Th. wrote:1. Can you give screenshots + steps?
2. If you change the destination folder (for ex. make a new one), the problem persists?
3. What versions XnV MP/OS do you have?
Describing:
My version is XNView MP 0.89.
Steps:
1) In my Folder \zzCAPTURE\ there are 4 images, and I will create shortcuts to \zzEDIT\, which is empty
2) I select the 4 images, right-click on Create Shortcut. The shortcuts are printed on the \CAPTURE\ folder.
3) I select the shortcuts and command "Move To", either on its icon or typing ALT+M. The regular MOVE TO dialogue opens.
4) When II select the destination folder \EDIT, which is empty, the REPLACE/WITH dialogue opens.
5) The opening of the REPLACE/WITH dialogue is the bug itself, because the destionation folder is empty.

I can send screenshots; in fact, I created them, but don't know how to send them. I tried to, clicking on the IMG button above the Text Box, but it did not open my Folder Manager.
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Post by XnTriq »

josedumoretzsohn wrote:I can send screenshots; in fact, I created them, but don't know how to send them. I tried to, clicking on the IMG button above the Text Box, but it did not open my Folder Manager.
Please refer to cday's tutorial on how to add attachments to a post.
josedumoretzsohn
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 11:13 am

Re: Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Post by josedumoretzsohn »

The screenshots follow:
1) 01-Destinatio Folder Empty.jpg
2) 01_SourceFolder.jpg
3) 02-Selection-to-Create-Shortcut.jpg
4) 03-Create-Shortcut.jpg
5) 04-MoveTo-Icon.jpg
6) 05-MoveTo-Dialogue.jpg
7) 06-Replace-With-Dialogue-Opens.jpg
07-Replace-With-Dialogue-Opens.jpg
07-Replace-With-Dialogue-Opens.jpg (95.31 KiB) Viewed 1445 times
XnTriq wrote:
josedumoretzsohn wrote:I can send screenshots; in fact, I created them, but don't know how to send them. I tried to, clicking on the IMG button above the Text Box, but it did not open my Folder Manager.
Please refer to cday's tutorial on how to add attachments to a post.
Attachments
06-Destination-Folder (Empty).jpg
06-Destination-Folder (Empty).jpg (71.17 KiB) Viewed 1445 times
05-MoveTo-Icon.jpg
04-Create-Shortcut.jpg
03-Selection-to-Create-Shortcut.jpg
02_SourceFolder.jpg
01-DestinationFolder Empty.jpg
josedumoretzsohn
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 11:13 am

Re: Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Post by josedumoretzsohn »

I tentatively installed the 0.90 .zip version, but the bug persists.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33836
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Post by xnview »

See issue for current status and some details.
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33836
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Operation "Move to" opens wrong dialogue

Post by xnview »

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.91. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
Pierre.
Post Reply