JXR HDR Support

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: helmut, XnTriq, xnview

Hrazmadul
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 12:29 pm

JXR HDR Support

Post by Hrazmadul »

I'm using the classic XnView version 2.50.3 (24 Nov 2021)

I love the program very much and use it a lot to browse my huge amount of totally unnecessary screenshots. But just recently I got myself an HDR monitor and started grabbing lots of screens from the games that support HDR. Nvidia's Shadowplay save these in JXR format, but they don't work at all in XnView. all the thumbnails are black and trying to view it results in a black image.

Programs like "HDR + WCG Image Viewer" can view them but the UI is horrible.
I still love to just pressing space to move the image list forward like XnView does.

My best guess is that something has changed in the JXR format that Nvidia uses or similar. I think the images are 32bits per pixel with alpha ie. 128bits.
Brion made a HDRFix which also contains a lot of samples.
https://github.com/brion/hdrfix/tree/main/samples

I can provide one myself from AC:Valhalla... *edit* nope can't attach .jxr to forum post, it isn't a valid file-extension and a zip was too large.
A friend lent me some space to host the image:
https://aeh.metatem.net/jxr/Assassins%2 ... .36.10.jxr (20,5 Mb)
Last edited by Hrazmadul on Mon Dec 13, 2021 11:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37892
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by xnview »

Hrazmadul wrote: Fri Dec 10, 2021 12:56 pm I can provide one myself from AC:Valhalla... *edit* nope can't attach .jxr to forum post, it isn't a valid file-extension and a zip was too large.
A friend lent me some space to host the image:
https://aeh.metatem.net/Assassins%20Cre ... .36.10.jxr
Do you have the PNG version of this file? or screenshot?
Pierre.
Hrazmadul
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 12:29 pm

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by Hrazmadul »

Sure I can attach a non HDR version as JPG.
The PNG had to be made with "HDR + WCG Image Viewer" and it went to 51Mb so I cant attach it here atm.
Photoshop can make a JPG and a TIFF of it but the TIFF is 84 Mb so I'll see if I can get my friend to host those later.
Hopefully I can attach the JPG at 5Mb.
Nope tried it 5Mb is to large for attachment..
I have to get back to you with links.

If I save it with HDR-WCG I get a smaller JPG(1Mb) and I am attaching it now. Though I wonder how much image data that vanishes through the save process. The strange cartoony effect on the trees is not there in the original image or at least not so visible.
The PSD looks as the real screenshot should.

I'm using the Microsoft JXR plugin to read the JXR into Photoshop and the image looks fine in PS with this.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... x?id=52369

*edit*
Links (all of these are exported from photoshop):
https://aeh.metatem.net/jxr/Assassins%2 ... .36.10.jpg (5,75 Mb)
https://aeh.metatem.net/jxr/Assassins%2 ... .36.10.png (12,7 Mb)
(I think the TIFF and the EXR are true HDR still)
https://aeh.metatem.net/jxr/Assassins%2 ... .36.10.tif (84 Mb)
https://aeh.metatem.net/jxr/Assassins%2 ... .36.10.exr (63,5 Mb)
https://aeh.metatem.net/jxr/Assassins%2 ... .36.10.psd (126 Mb)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37892
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by xnview »

ok, 128bits jxr will be supported
Pierre.
Hrazmadul
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 12:29 pm

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by Hrazmadul »

Thanks a lot! :D
Hrazmadul
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 12:29 pm

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by Hrazmadul »

Hello again. I discovered you added JXR to MP so I downloaded and tried it.
But I'm blaming myself for not providing a larger sample of files for you.

Ubisoft is doing something strange in their files. Most of the files have a brighter gamma I guess, than they should
when they were taken.

So games like "Assassin's Creed: Odyssey" and "Assassin's Creed: Valhalla" have strange transparency/alpha issues in the images.
"Cyberpunk 2077" is only just a bit too bright.

I wonder if there is some brightness/gamma parameter that is readable in the file to set a predefined brightness point.

I provided here a link to a zip with a mix of 5 files from each of the 3 games:
http://aeh.metatem.net/jxr/jxr-sample-i ... -03-22.zip (135 Mb)

Thank you.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37892
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by xnview »

the alpha channel seems to be bad for some images...
Pierre.
Hrazmadul
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 12:29 pm

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by Hrazmadul »

But the same images with alpha channel errors can be loaded into photoshop without problem. And from there exported into non-HDR images.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37892
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by xnview »

Hrazmadul wrote: Mon Apr 11, 2022 2:20 pm But the same images with alpha channel errors can be loaded into photoshop without problem. And from there exported into non-HDR images.
could you send me the files into png?
Pierre.
Hrazmadul
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 12:29 pm

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by Hrazmadul »

There is unfortunately no option for PNG. Only JPG and TIFF.
I'm using the "Image Processor" when I had a lot of JXR earlier to get them into a viewable format but it was then I got thinking
why convert if the viewer can handle it... it was then I started contacting you.
I dont know if you want them as pure as PS can do it or if you want me to change brightness or anything.
The images in the image processor are also too bright unless I tweak it in PS.

I'll make a zip with brightness tweaked non HDR PNG in a separate zip as well. I have to manually save each file in PS which makes it daunting if there are many to do.

But I can zip those png, jpg and tiff up and put on a server later.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Hrazmadul on Mon Apr 11, 2022 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Hrazmadul
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 12:29 pm

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by Hrazmadul »

I have put the zips up now.

http://aeh.metatem.net/jxr/jxr-sample-i ... -04-11.ZIP (54,4 Mb)
http://aeh.metatem.net/jxr/jxr-sample-i ... -04-11.ZIP (677 Mb)

On the PNG files the exposure is tweaked from 0 to -1.5
http://aeh.metatem.net/jxr/jxr-sample-i ... -04-11.ZIP (97 Mb)

However -2 or even -3 exposure would sometimes be better.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37892
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by xnview »

JPEG has no alpha channel, if you disable alpha in XnView, you have same preview for jxr and jpeg
Pierre.
Hrazmadul
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 12:29 pm

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by Hrazmadul »

Yes, I can turn off the alpha on the thumbnail but the image is still using the alpha when viewing it. I'm searching and I couldn't find any option to turn off alpha in viewer. If there is one, where do I find it?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37892
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by xnview »

Hrazmadul wrote: Mon Apr 25, 2022 6:01 am Yes, I can turn off the alpha on the thumbnail but the image is still using the alpha when viewing it. I'm searching and I couldn't find any option to turn off alpha in viewer. If there is one, where do I find it?
View>use alpha channel
Pierre.
Hrazmadul
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 12:29 pm

Re: JXR HDR Support

Post by Hrazmadul »

There is no such option under Settings>View>View or Settings>View>Misc. or Settings>View>Info
and no such option on the View Menu either.

Edit: Found it now when viewing the image. "Use alpha channel" on the menu. Would have been easier to find if this option was in the settings.

Thanks.