About “Show (the) grid”…

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Post by marsh » Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:50 am

ouistiti wrote: I would add an option to set the colour of the grid, either to choose by the user, or automatic following the dominant colour of the picture.
Alternate colour could also serve as special effect if screen capture were used. I also like the variable width idea for same reason.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Nice *Bump*

Post by Clo » Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:27 pm

—> marsh

:) Hello B. !

• Thanks to *bump* that topic !

- I miss a colour¦lines thickness choice very often.
- Like you point out, especially to make screen shots.

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

Guest

GridColour / GridThickness

Post by Guest » Sun Jul 30, 2006 5:19 pm

As discussed here already, XnView please provide us with the following ini-file settings. (Any configuration dialogue may follow much later..)

Code: Select all

[Grid]
GridOpacity=100        ; 0 to 100% to control visibility
GridColor="RGB-value"   ;like shown with the Display/Colour Information
GridType=1               ; several line types, 1=solid(default)
GridThicknessX=2        ; in pixel
GridThicknessY=2
GridLabelsX=1           ; 1=ON (standard),  0=not shown
GridLabelsY=1
GridXoffs=0             ;pixel coordinates for  grid startpoint
GridYoffs=0
These options (in combination with the already existing Text Option) would help all of us a lot!
You may think of the following XnView use cases:
  • add imagescale/size-information to figures captured via TWAIN-interface
  • annotate Batch Transformations if the Grid option will be introduced to the Tools/Batch Convert/Transfomations list also

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Post by marsh » Sun Jul 30, 2006 10:58 pm

Anonymous wrote: These options (in combination with the already existing Text Option) would help all of us a lot!
A 'dock text to grid' function on 'add text' dialog could look something like this:
Image
There could be much versatility with grid sub-dialog (with options discussed previously).
Additional possibilities:
[x]Add grid to image
[x]Limit grid to text length
[x]Limit grid to number of text lines

fun_msa
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:37 pm
Contact:

add proportional grid

Post by fun_msa » Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:44 pm

I discover the very usefull grid, but could you please add some setting like divise the image horizontal/vertical by N. Actually the grid is set by absolute pixel, I suggest to set propotional grid. Like 3 rows verticale/horizontal -> that will be VERY usefull to verify if the image respect the 2/3 photography rules. CF BB do it. I propose to you to add a checkbox indicating ig value correspond in pixel or percent subdivision.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8214
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Sun Mar 18, 2007 12:26 am

Adding one more to the wishlist:
There should be one shortcut for showing/hiding the grid (perhaps it is already there, but I couldn't find it in the list of All Current Hotkeys / Shortcuts).

Post Reply