'Browse with XnView' in context menu

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
scw2wi
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:41 am
Contact:

'Browse with XnView' in context menu

Post by scw2wi »

I like the shell extensions of XnView (configured with sub-menues),
but it seems to work only with pictures, not with directories.

When I right-click on a directory, I have an entry: Browse with IrfanView.
I would rather like to have an entry: Browse with XnView.

How can I quickly browse a directory of pictures,
when XnView is not yet started?
Walter
ckit
XnThusiast
Posts: 2446
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 1:11 am
Contact:

Post by ckit »

XnView Options -> System Integration -> Integration
Check Add "Browse with XnView" to context menu.
XnViewMP 64bits and Windows 10 Pro x64 2004
PhotoFiltre Studio X
scw2wi
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:41 am
Contact:

Post by scw2wi »

This checkbox looks good,
but it is disabled every time I exit this requester with OK.

Is this feature compatible with Vista?
Walter
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33864
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview »

scw2wi wrote:This checkbox looks good,
but it is disabled every time I exit this requester with OK.

Is this feature compatible with Vista?
This setting is always resseted on your Vista?
Pierre.
scw2wi
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:41 am
Contact:

Post by scw2wi »

correct.

I'm pressing F12
setting the checkbox at: Eintrag "Betrachten mit XnView" dem Kontextmenü hinzufügen
(sorry, I have only the german version installed)
click OK
press F12 again
Checkbox is reset
Walter
Guest

Post by Guest »

you should try this:

instead of launching xnview by the link, right clic on the link and use "run as administrator"
scw2wi
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:41 am
Contact:

Post by scw2wi »

Thanks a lot, this was the solution.

After setting this option, the next starts may be without admin option again.
Walter
Post Reply