1.91.6 : Halt upon exiting

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:28 pm

OK, closed.
Dreamer

GMB
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:25 am

Post by GMB » Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:51 pm

Hi. Can we reopen this bug? It's happening in 1.92 as well. Sorry for the late reply.

I've found an interesting error saying "Pagefile too small". This could be a clue to the problem since I don't use windows with a pagefile.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Mon Jan 21, 2008 7:55 am

GMB wrote:Hi. Can we reopen this bug? It's happening in 1.92 as well. Sorry for the late reply.
You have always the same problem???
Pierre.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5433
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq » Mon Jan 21, 2008 6:50 pm

GMB wrote:I've found an interesting error saying "Pagefile too small".
I had the same problem today in browser mode (XnView v1.92 on Windows 2000 SP4).

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Mon Jan 21, 2008 6:56 pm

XnTriq wrote:
GMB wrote:I've found an interesting error saying "Pagefile too small".
I had the same problem today in browser mode (XnView v1.92 on Windows 2000 SP4).
Really, do you reproduce it?
Pierre.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5433
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq » Tue Jan 22, 2008 4:30 am

xnview wrote:
XnTriq wrote:
GMB wrote:I've found an interesting error saying "Pagefile too small".
I had the same problem today in browser mode (XnView v1.92 on Windows 2000 SP4).
Really, do you reproduce it?
Yes, a (write-protected) TIF image is the culprit.
I uploaded it to a file sharing service and sent you the link via PM.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:05 am

XnTriq wrote:
xnview wrote:
XnTriq wrote: I had the same problem today in browser mode (XnView v1.92 on Windows 2000 SP4).
Really, do you reproduce it?
Yes, a (write-protected) TIF image is the culprit.
I uploaded it to a file sharing service and sent you the link via PM.
Ok, thanks, and how to reproduce?
Pierre.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5433
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq » Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:40 pm

XnTriq wrote:Yes, a (write-protected) TIF image is the culprit.
I uploaded it to a file sharing service and sent you the link via PM.
Pierre, I was in a hurry and uploaded the wrong image. Sorry about that. Image
This time around I made sure it's the one that's causing trouble.
Please check your PMs.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:34 am

XnTriq wrote:
XnTriq wrote:Yes, a (write-protected) TIF image is the culprit.
I uploaded it to a file sharing service and sent you the link via PM.
Pierre, I was in a hurry and uploaded the wrong image. Sorry about that. Image
This time around I made sure it's the one that's causing trouble.
Please check your PMs.
Ok, i have it and crash in xnview...
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8153
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Thu Feb 07, 2008 4:19 pm

What's the status of this problem? Is it fixed in 1.92.1? If the problem persists, I'll put it on the list of must fixes.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5433
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq » Thu Feb 07, 2008 10:40 pm

helmut wrote:What's the status of this problem? Is it fixed in 1.92.1?
Regarding the problem with my corrupted TIFF file: That's fixed.
But we haven't heard from the thread starter.
GMB wrote:Hi. Can we reopen this bug? It's happening in 1.92 as well. Sorry for the late reply.

I've found an interesting error saying "Pagefile too small". This could be a clue to the problem since I don't use windows with a pagefile.

GMB
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:25 am

Post by GMB » Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:48 pm

Sorry I haven't been in contact. Been very busy.
The problem is still happening.

I've found something else which may point to the problem. Here is how I can reproduce the problem.

1. Open a JPG in the viewer. (Any img format will do the same)
2. Exit Xnview (either by closing the main window or going to File>Exit)
3. Xnview Halts (Not Responding)
4. I can move the window around the screen but nothing happens.
5. I click on the close button and Xnview closes.

I can reproduce this everytime, without fail.

I hope this helps you

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Closes… too much !

Post by Clo » Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:29 pm

:arrow: GMB

:) Hello !

• I cannot reproduce your issue here with 1.92.1 following your steps.

- XnView closes alright in any case, using either the Exit File menu item, or Ctrl+Q, or Alt+F4 and even
(unwanted for me and some others) with CTRL+W when closing the last file or having an empty main “View” window
(just started the programme without any file)…

• I think still that the cause is external, maybe a virus scanner¦utility* running in the background or so…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo

Win XP-Prof. SP1 - French¦English -
*Especially (a) graphic card¦s having short cuts settings from the local menu on its Tray icon;
it isn't rare that it steals the shortcut¦s of programmes…
Last edited by Clo on Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

GMB
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:25 am

Post by GMB » Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:18 pm

Hi Clo,
I think still that the cause is external, maybe a virus scanner¦utility* running in the background or so…
That is a good idea. I will test this. I run ClamWin as a Virus checker and Comodo as a firewall. This maybe the problem. I'll let you know what I find.

Post Reply