horrible toolbar icon shadow

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

anonymous_user

horrible toolbar icon shadow

Post by anonymous_user »

I appended some commands to the toolbar but when I hover my cursor over them (custom icon) they have an ugly shadow:

Image

Why is this?
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Size ?

Post by Clo »

:arrow: anonymous_user

:) Hello !

• Hm… Maybe they are not the same size than the rest of the skin you're using ?
- Please, could you show a longer part of that tool-bar ?

• I use always my own skins with matching extra *.ICO, I never saw such an issue… :?

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
anonymous_user

Post by anonymous_user »

This is my entire browser toolbar:

Image

And I am using the correct size (24px).

Maybe its because the normal toolbar is bmp but the new icons are ico?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37624
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Post by xnview »

Please send me the .ico to check?
Pierre.
anonymous_user

Post by anonymous_user »

User avatar
helmut
Moderator
Posts: 8453
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut »

As one can see the black, ugly part is the shadow. The other icons all have a shadow, too, but it's just a faint shadow.

Perhaps a problem with alpha channel or colour conversion?
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

OS ?

Post by Clo »

:arrow: anonymous_user

:) Hello !

• *.ICO (single format, not multipage) is supported for extra commands, I use them without any problem, like said above…

• Your icons look quite normal, I checked in XnView and in GFIE Pro (Icon editor).

• What occurs when there is no extra-icon on a tool-bar ? Do you get that unwanted shade ? Also, what with other skin¦s ?

• Which OS are you running ? Here Win XP-Pro SP1 (Fr)

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Last edited by Clo on Fri Aug 15, 2008 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
anonymous_user

Post by anonymous_user »

helmut wrote:The other icons all have a shadow, too, but it's just a faint shadow.
Correct.
helmut wrote:Perhaps a problem with alpha channel or colour conversion?
Maybe. I decided to save the icons as True Color without alpha channel and they no longer have the ugly shadow. The icons look nicer with alpha channel though :(
Clo wrote:• What occurs when no extra-icon is on a tool-bar ? Do you get that unwanted shade ? Also, what with other skin¦s ?
I just happens with the custom icons not the skin.
Clo wrote:• Which OS are you running ? Here Win XP-Pro SP1 (Fr)
Vista SP1 English
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Vista bad koke ?

Post by Clo »

:arrow: anonymous_user

:) Again…

• That sounds like an annoyance with Vista (only) in such a situation…

• A while ago, when we had some snags with extra-icons -nicely fixed now - I suggested to Pierre
that the separate *.BMP files be supported also as extra “icons”.
- I think that (maybe) it could help in the case, since the skin bitmap works fine…
Anyway, it's worth a try if supported later…
• Another test to perform :  Build a small 32-bit ICL with your extra-icons, and use it instead of separate files…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

OUPS ! Similar !

Post by Clo »

:arrow: anonymous_user

:) Again-again…

• I tested further using an icon having a drop-shadow and a transparent BG (that I use rarely, so I missed this).

• At left hand, the icon itself (as a PNG here, but same look), at right hand,
how it looks in the tool bar when hovered by the mouse :

ImageImage      Image.

• There is a difference, though : Here, the icon displays always the original drop-shadow as “solid”, even when not hovered !

• Hence, there is a bug really, not obvious to fix alright for all OSs…:?
Note : That occurs in all cases, no matter if 16 or 32-bit screen display is set.

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
anonymous_user

Post by anonymous_user »

Ok I tried using GFIE Pro to build the icl but now its worse.

The normal icon is "fuzzy" and the hovered icon still has the shadow.

Image

Oh well. For now Ill just use nonalpha icons.
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Functions calls… ?

Post by Clo »

:arrow: anonymous_user

:) Well, a worse result from an ICL is not so suprising :  To fix serious issues in the display of custom non-standard sizes,
I assume that Pierre had to use a certain function call which displays these icons correctly, size and motif (it does)…
- From an ICL, I guess he uses necessarily an "ExtractIcon" function or so (less good in the case).

• To sum up the issue :

1. Under XP, the *.ICO 32 BPP having a drop-shadow doesn't display that shadow normally, but as a solid dark area,
even "on idle" (not hovered). :bug:

2. Under Vista, the (same¦similar) icon shows the drop-shadow alright on idle,
but also as a solid dark area when hovered. :bugconfirmed:

- Obviously, the Alpha channel support is lame¦missing in that display…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
User avatar
ouistiti
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:28 pm
Location: Belgique

Post by ouistiti »

:arrow: Clo

I confirm ! :evil:

Paul
L'important n'est pas de convaincre, mais de donner à réfléchir.
The important thing is not to convince, but to incite to think.

1,77245385090552...
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37624
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Post by xnview »

The icon package is no more available!
Pierre.
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

No matter---

Post by Clo »

:arrow: Pierre

:) Hello !

• The two original icons for tests are available as a RAR archive HERE.
- BTW, that doesn't matter a lot, the issue occurs with any 32 BPP *.ICO you add in the tool-bar, like I showed above…
- You could try also my test-skin I sent you a while ago…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Last edited by Clo on Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice