Copy and Paste

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

Accalon
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:08 am

Copy and Paste

Post by Accalon »

What I am doing:
I open a pic in new Window, Mark the full Image or an Area, then press ctrl+c (for copy) or do it with the Menu, then go to an other App like an eMail or a Word Doc and press ctrl+v for paste (or over the menu)

Result:
In Version 1.8x i get the Image or part of it in the other App. In V 1.9 i get e link to the Image like. U:\Privat\Media\MiscPhotosAndGrafics\FunPic\Das%20Bike[1].jpg

Is it a Bug or a Feature :?

(my first time here..... and 1 thing i have to say..... XnView is really a greate tool, I use it very intensive since about 1 Y...... thx)

Greetings from old Switzerland
Accalon

XnView 1.90 <x>
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 39376
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Copy and Paste

Post by xnview »

Accalon wrote:What I am doing:
I open a pic in new Window, Mark the full Image or an Area, then press ctrl+c (for copy) or do it with the Menu, then go to an other App like an eMail or a Word Doc and press ctrl+v for paste (or over the menu)

Result:
In Version 1.8x i get the Image or part of it in the other App. In V 1.9 i get e link to the Image like. U:\Privat\Media\MiscPhotosAndGrafics\FunPic\Das%20Bike[1].jpg

Is it a Bug or a Feature :?

(my first time here..... and 1 thing i have to say..... XnView is really a greate tool, I use it very intensive since about 1 Y...... thx)

Greetings from old Switzerland
Accalon
When you copy picture, i add picture and text path in clipboard
Pierre.
Accalon
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:08 am

Post by Accalon »

did a bit more testing......
It's right, when i copy a pic as ex. to Photoshop it's ok. When I do it in Word (Office 2007) or Mail and I do it over the Menu "Insert as" it's working. So I thougt, it's a changed default beaviour in Office 2007.....

But when I do it in XnV 1.82.4 with "ctrl+v" it's different, I allway get the Image....

Could it be, because you only added the pixels in V 1.8x and now in V 1.9x also the Link into Clipboard. Is it possible to steer the behaviour from your side?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 39376
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Post by xnview »

Accalon wrote:did a bit more testing......
It's right, when i copy a pic as ex. to Photoshop it's ok. When I do it in Word (Office 2007) or Mail and I do it over the Menu "Insert as" it's working. So I thougt, it's a changed default beaviour in Office 2007.....

But when I do it in XnV 1.82.4 with "ctrl+v" it's different, I allway get the Image....

Could it be, because you only added the pixels in V 1.8x and now in V 1.9x also the Link into Clipboard. Is it possible to steer the behaviour from your side?
Yes, in 1.8x i'll add perhaps only the bitmap data...
Pierre.
Accalon
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:08 am

Post by Accalon »

thx Pierre and have a good week
surfacecleanerz
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Germany

Post by surfacecleanerz »

Hello,

I just realized this post,

Would it be possible, to change this in settings to the "normal" user-desired action: copy the file to clipboard?

My 1.82.4 does the same as 1.90 rc1, copy plain text directory link...(via right click\copy)

Stefan
XnViewFanScratchingHead

change in default Paste behaviour for images.

Post by XnViewFanScratchingHead »

I'm moving back to an earlier version of Xnview (or perhaps back to irfanview) that has the *expected* and standard behaviour of copy/paste for images, that is, copy an image in Xnview, paste the image into Microsoft Word or any other application.

Assuming the user wants only the UNC path is just plain silly. I've been an I.T professional and programmer for 20 years and this kind of 'feature' change just astonishes me!

Great program, but if this is a sign of things to come, Irfanview is going to be my graphics prog of choice.
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 6171
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq »

piliktal ([url=http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?t=11926]Problem with copying selected part of picture[/url]) wrote:Yes, you are right, of course!

After Ctrl-C, the selected part of picture AND the path/tab title as text are copied to the clipboard. In Word the Ctrl-V get the TEXT from clipboard. In "special paste" it is possible to select what will be copied from clipboard: TEXT OR PICTURE.

After Ctrl-X ONLY the selected part of picture is copied to clipboard, so word gets it (no anything else in the clipboard).
surfacecleanerz
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Germany

Post by surfacecleanerz »

Hello,
ok, this is a possibility, but I think an option for changing it to the normal behaviour for rightclick copy as normal file copy to clipboard feature would be very useful!
Stefan
HelpDesk-Junky

It seems to be an Bug...

Post by HelpDesk-Junky »

Please change the functionality back to your older style, please...
Guest

Post by Guest »

It would be very nice if you can change this setting back to the earlier style.

maybe - if you really want this fug (feature-bug ^^) - you can add an option to disable it.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 39376
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: It seems to be an Bug...

Post by xnview »

HelpDesk-Junky wrote:Please change the functionality back to your older style, please...
Ok, i'll add a hidden setting in 1.90.3
CopyClipboard=0 (filename & image), CopyClipboard=1 (image)
Pierre.
User avatar
helmut
Moderator
Posts: 8693
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: It seems to be an Bug...

Post by helmut »

xnview wrote:
HelpDesk-Junky wrote:Please change the functionality back to your older style, please...
Ok, i'll add a hidden setting in 1.90.3
CopyClipboard=0 (filename & image), CopyClipboard=1 (image)
For symmetric reasons and flexibility I think you should have:
1=Copy filename
2=Copy image data
3=Copy filename & image data

Not sure whether there is a need to copy the filename only.
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Absolutely !

Post by Clo »

—> helmut

• Hi !
For symmetric reasons and flexibility I think you should have:
1=Copy filename
2=Copy image data
3=Copy filename & image data
• Yes, I agree totally !
…Not sure whether there is a need to copy the filename only.
• Personally, I need this very often, I'd even requested it a while ago,
vs. the file listing creation, quite inappropriate in the case…
- I might be able to copy several names too, i.e. when selected as thumb nails or in a list of the Browser.
- I would even add again :
4=Copy name¦s and full path¦s
• Anyway, separate commands would be much better, IMHO…

:mrgreen: G.
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
User avatar
ouistiti
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:28 pm
Location: Belgique

Post by ouistiti »

:arrow: Clo

I agree totally, and support the four proposed settings ! ♥


Friendly


Paul
L'important n'est pas de convaincre, mais de donner à réfléchir.
The important thing is not to convince, but to incite to think.

1,77245385090552...