Option to "lock position" after "lock zoom&qu

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

Lupin III.
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 1:05 pm

Option to "lock position" after "lock zoom&qu

Post by Lupin III. »

It would be nice if additionally to "Lock Zoom" a "Lock Position" option would be available. (Actually I'm used to this feature, because this is exactly what my camera does).

I have many pictures of the same scene only differing in camera settings. To select the best of these images I often look at highlights or edges in full zoom, which I compare on the different images. While "lock zoom" works, I still have to scroll to the position after selecting another image, which can take some time if you seek special 500x500 pixels in a 5MP image.

Of course there are cases, where the image sizes don't match. I don't know what would be the "right" solution in this case. You could either reset to the top left or take the position as relative (if the view was in the bottom left in the first image, it would also be in the bottom left of the next). But this feature would mainly be intended for comparing fotographs of the same camera with the same resolution, so don't put too much "brainpower" into it ;-).
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 6344
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq »

Isn't that what the Compare feature does?

Try this: Select a bunch of images in browser mode and go to Tools » Compare... (Ctrl+C). Make sure you got the Use tabs checkbox ticked.
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by JohnFredC »

2XnTriq

See this post. I think it is the same request.
John
Lupin III.
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 1:05 pm

Post by Lupin III. »

Oh, I have never seen this before, although it was there in 1.82, too, as I see now. But it surely wasn't there when I first checked.

The problem is, it's completly differently to operate than the xnview browser. For example I can't use the +/- keys to zoom in and out, or the arrow keys to move from one file to the next, or press del to remove an image, or press F2 to rename the file, or rightclick and see the properties, and I don't see the zoom level (same images are that blurred, that I think I'm at 200% ;-). And if I want to compare another file I didn't think of before I have to leave the window, additionally select the image and select "compare", "use tabs", zoom and scroll again.

If you mind all that, it's much easier if I simply use "lock zoom" and stay in the browser, where I have to scroll a little. A "lock position" would have done what "compare" does in tab mode with all the features of xnview available.

btw. (I'm using xnview 1.90 for just over a week now), why is the explorer like rename function (single clicking on a selected file) no more available? It was simple and fast.


I hope you don't get annoyed by such nagging comments. I just want to help to make an already great program better ;-)!
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 6344
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq »

JohnFredC wrote:See this post. I think it is the same request.
Baaad librarian! :P
Lupin III. wrote:I hope you don't get annoyed by such nagging comments. I just want to help to make an already great program better ;-)!
Lupin III., as far as I'm concerned, your request is perfectly legitimate and there's no reason for anybody to feel annoyed by your comments.
Lupin III. wrote:btw. (I'm using xnview 1.90 for just over a week now), why is the explorer like rename function (single clicking on a selected file) no more available? It was simple and fast.
  • Tools » Options... » Browser
    • Browser » Use dialog to rename file
    • Folder tree » Single click to rename
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Post by marsh »

Lupin III. wrote: If you mind all that, it's much easier if I simply use "lock zoom" and stay in the browser, where I have to scroll a little. A "lock position" would have done what "compare" does in tab mode with all the features of xnview available.
See if using browser's fullscreen (browser + F11 on an image) maintains relative position (which I believe you are suggesting). It reminds me of this topic.
Lupin III.
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 1:05 pm

Post by Lupin III. »

No, it always jumps to the top left corner ("lock zoom" works). And it has the same problem as the compare feature: most of the xnview-browser functions are not available.